Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Special Collections  Tags: history humanities primary_sources literature medieval middle_ages renaissance judaica special_collections brandeis_library_information  

This is a guide to the Special Collections held at Brandeis, including manuscripts and rare books.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/specialcollections  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Propaganda Posters

Join the Navy

See images from the World War I and World War II Propaganda Posters Collection at Special Collections Spotlight. A detailed finding aid is available here, and an online exhibit is available here.

 

Book of Hours

Book of Hours

Fifteenth-century Flemish Book of Hours at Brandeis University Special Collections

 
 

Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections

The Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections department, located on level 2 of Goldfarb, houses the gems of the Brandeis library. Special Collections consists of both rare books and original manuscripts. The rare book collection includes incunabula; books published in the 16th - 18th centuries on such subjects as history, English and American literature, philosophy, and Judaica; first and limited editions; and fine press publications. Book collections of note include the Baldwin Shakespeare collection and the McKew-Parr Collection on Magellan and the Age of Discovery. Special Collections also holds literary manuscripts of European and American authors such as John Cheever and Joseph Heller, as well as music collections and photographic collections. In addition, it includes collections of materials on the Spanish Civil War, left- and right-wing movements in the United States in the latter half of the twentieth century, anti-Semitism, the Holocaust, twentieth-century anti-alien and anti-radical movements in the United States, and Zionism. The department also includes the papers of prominent political figures such as Louis D. Brandeis, Benjamin Disraeli, and Daniel Webster. 

A list of collections is available on our website. You can search for rare books by doing Advanced Search in LOUIS, where you can limit by date as well as by collection (choose "Rare Books and Special Collections"). Also see Special Collections Spotlight, which provides a close online look at rare and fascinating individual items from the special collections of Brandeis Libraries, including unique manuscripts, rare books, and unusual ephemera. Click on the link from the Archives and Special Collections home page, or go directly to http://brandeisspecialcollections.blogspot.com. Many of the detailed descriptions are written by Brandeis graduate students and faculty.

The Special Collections department is open from 9 to 5, Monday through Friday. Please call or email (contact information at right) to make an appointment. We welcome students, faculty members, and outside researchers.

 

University Archives

Looking for manuscript collections related to Brandeis University, such as university and student publications, faculty papers, yearbooks, photographs, theses and dissertations, alumni publications and papers, architectural plans, memorabilia, et cetera? Go to the Archival Resources Libguide for help.

 

Special Collections Librarian

Profile ImageSarah Shoemaker


Contact Info:
Archives & Special Collections
Goldfarb Library, Level 2
Brandeis University
Waltham, Massachusetts
tel. 781-736-4641
sshoemak@brandeis.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Special Collections, Manuscripts, Rare Books, Primary Sources

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait