Quick Links
Featured Resource
Constitution Finder at University of Richmond: This database provides access to constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents of the nations of the world.
Welcome!
Primary texts are the uninterpreted, textual evidence used by humanities researchers to support their arguments and opinions about their research topic. Research in the humanities often requires the analysis and interpretation of primary text material, but finding this material can be challenging. This guide will help you to locate primary text material available in the Brandeis University Libraries.
- Starting Out: what primary texts are and how to begin looking for them.
- Research by Material Type: search strategies to find and locate primary texts.
- Research Guides by Subject: selected resources by subject, such as American history, comparative history, and literary studies.
Note: This guide focuses primarily on the written word. It does not cover research methods for visual, audio, or statistical primary source materials.
Created by Sarah Shoemaker and Anthony T. Vaver
Cool tools
Get the LibX LTS Toolbar and search the online catalog, databases, and much more directly from your browser bar.
Try Zotero, RefWorks, or Endnote to keep track of your research sources, manage your bibliographic citations, and automatically generate a bibliography. See the Citation Management LibGuide for more information on all of these, with a comparison chart to help you decide which one is best for you.
Locating primary-source materials
This list of bibliographic databases, databases of archival repositories, and Brandeis Special Collections sites will help you determine where and how to find the primary sources you need.
- All Archives and Special Collections resources in Brandeis Scholar
- ArchiveGrid
- ArchiveFinder
- OCLC WorldCat
- Repositories of Primary Sources
- Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections
- Special Collections Guide
- Primary Sources in the Humanities guide
- Special Collections Spotlight
- LibGuides at Brandeis
- OAIster
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
Director, University Archives & Special Collections |
Contact Info Archives & Special Collections Goldfarb Library, Level 2 Brandeis University Waltham, Massachusetts tel. 781-736-4641 sshoemak@brandeis.edu Send Email |
University Archivist |
Contact Info Archives and Special Collections Farber Level 2 /MS 045 781-736-4686 mmcneely@brandeis.edu Send Email |
Special Collections Librarian |
Contact Info Archives & Special Collections Goldfarb Library, Level 2 Brandeis University Waltham, Massachusetts Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
