1. RefWorks: Getting Started2. Saving citations with RefWorks3. Getting organized with RefWorks4. More About Citation Management
This is the "Finding Background Information" page of the "Seminar in Literary and Cultural Studies (HISP 198A)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Seminar in Literary and Cultural Studies (HISP 198A)   Tags: hisp198, hisp_198  

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2012 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/litcult Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

Electronic Reference (EBooks)

General Online Literature Reference Databases

  • Literature Online  
    Rating
    Great source for criticism and biography, as well as links to reference works and reliable websites about specific authors. Also includes full text of selected authors' works. Can browse the list of authors by ethnicity or nationality.
  • Literature Resource Center  
    Rating
    Addresses all facets of literary study in one highly searchable interface. Its extensive reference material includes: biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works.

The Cambridge History of Latin America (Online)

These are the post-Colonial volumes; click here to see the LOUIS links to all 12 volumes.

  • The Cambridge History of Latin America, Volume 11: Bibliographical Essays  
      
      
    Rating
    Volume XI contains bibliographical essays from the complete Cambridge History of Latin America, Volumes I-X. It will be the definitive bibliographic reference for scholars of Latin America in the European era. It is the first authoritative large-scale history of the whole of Latin America from the first contacts between the native peoples of the Americas and Europeans in the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries to the present day.
  • Cambridge History of Latin America: Vol. 10: Latin America since 1930: Ideas, Culture, and Society  
      
      
    Rating
    The essays in Volume X discuss the modernist culture of the 1920s in Brazil, Argentina, and Mexico; the renaissance of Latin American philosophy in the 1940s; major trends in Latin American narrative and poetry, including the indigenous literatures & cultures; the work of twentieth-century Latin American composers, architects, & filmmakers; Latin American mass media, including newspapers, magazines, radio & television; & the development of sculpture, painting, & mural art in the 20th century.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin America Vol. 9: Brazil Since 1930  
      
      
    Rating
    The Cambridge History of Latin America, the first large-scale authoritative survey of Latin American history from ca. 1500 to the present day, is a work of international collaborative scholarship. It aims to provide a high-level synthesis of existing knowledge in chapters written by leading scholars in their fields. Each chapter is accompanied by a bibliographical essay. Volume IX, Brazil since 1930, is the final volume of the 12 volume History to be published.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin America Vol. 8: Latin America Since 1930: Spanish South America  
    Rating
    This volume consists of the separate histories of the countries of Spanish South America. Part One covers in depth the history of Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay. Part Two is devoted to Chile. Part Three covers Peru and Bolivia. The fourth and final section is devoted to Colombia, Ecuador and Venezuela.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin America Vol. 7: Latin America since 1930: Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean  
    Rating
    The volume consists of the separate histories of Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, and Panama. Part One covers in depth the history of Mexico. Part Two deals with the five countries of Central America: Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica. Part Three covers Cuba, including the revolution, the Dominican Republic, Haiti, and Puerto Rico. The fourth and final section is devoted to Panama, with a separate chapter discussing the history of the Canal Zone up to 1979.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin America Vol. 6, part 2: Latin America since 1930 Economy, Society and Politics
    The second part of Volume VI of the Cambridge History of Latin America examines the military in Latin American politics; democracy; the Left; labour movements and the urban working class; rural mobilisation and violence. It also takes a look at the role of women in twentieth-century Latin American economy, society, and politics. The volume finishes with a discussion of the actions and importance of the Catholic and Protestant churches.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin America Vol. 6, part 1: Latin America since 1930: Economy, society and politics  
      
      
    Rating
    Volume VI brings together general essays on major themes in the economic, social, and political history of Latin America from 1930 to 1990. It begins with a chapter on population growth, followed by four chapters on the economies of Latin American states from the Depression to 1990. The evolution of urban and rural social structures, and of state organisation, is discussed.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin America Vol. 5: c. 1870 to 1930  
      
      
    Rating
    Volume V consists of twenty-one chapters on the economic, social and, above all, political history of the various Latin American countries from c. 1870 to 1930. Part One deals in some detail with the history of Mexico in this period. There are chapters on the Porfiriato (the thirtyfive-year dictatorship of Porfirio Ytoa., 1876—1911), on the Mexican Revolution and on reconstruction under the 'Sonoran dynasty' during
    the 1920s.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin America Vol. 4: c. 1870 to 1930  
      
      
    Rating
    Volume IV, the first of these two volumes on the period c. 1870 to 1930, consists of twelve general chapters on the economic, social, political, intellectual and cultural history of Latin America as a whole. Two chapters examine the growth of the Latin American economies, the first in the period 1870—1914, the second in the period from the First World War to the eve of the World Depression of the 1930s.

The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature (Online)

The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature is by far the most comprehensive work of its kind ever written. Its three volumes cover the whole sweep of Latin American literature (including Brazilian) from pre-Colombian times to the present, and contain chapters on Latin American writing in the USA.

Click here to see the LOUIS links to all three volumes.

  • The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature Vol. 1: Discovery to Modernism  
      
      
    Rating
    Volume 1 begins with pre-Columbian traditions and their first contact with European culture, continuing through to the end of the nineteenth century. New World historiography, epic poetry, theatre, the novel, and the essay form are among the areas covered in this comprehensive and authoritative treatment.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature Vol. 2: The Twentieth Century  
    Rating
    Volume 2 provides coverage of all genres from the end of the nineteenth century up to García Márquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude and beyond to 1990, thus including discussion of Spanish American literature's best-known works. The novel, poetry, autobiographical narrative, the short story, Afro-Hispanic American literature, theatre, and Chicano literature are among the areas treated in this wide-ranging volume.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature Vol. 3: Brazilian literature; bibliographies  
      
      
    Rating
    Volume 3 is devoted partly to the history of Brazilian literature, from the earliest writing through the colonial period and the Portuguese-language traditions of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; and partly also to an extensive bibliographical section in which annotated reading lists relating to the chapters in all three volumes of The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature are presented. These bibliographies are a unique feature of the History, further enhancing its immense value
 

Print Reference

Click on the title to see a book's LOUIS record, click on the image for more information about the book from Amazon.com.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature - Verity Smith, ed.
Call Number: Main Library - Reference PQ7081.A1 E56 1997
ISBN: 1884964184

Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature - Philip Ward, ed.
Call Number: Main Library - Stacks PQ6006 .O93
ISBN: 0198661142


Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture - Barbara A. Tenenbaum, editor in chief
Call Number: Main Library - Reference F1406 .E53 1996
ISBN: 0684192535

 

Lisa Zeidenberg

Profile Image
Academic Outreach Librarian for Creative Arts
Contact Info
Main Library, Farber Level 2
781-736-4697
lzeidenb@brandeis.edu
Send Email

The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature (Online)

This first comprehensive history of Spanish literature to be published in English since the 1970s brings together experts from the USA, the United Kingdom, and Spain. Together, the essays cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theatre from the early Middle Ages to the present day.

  • The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature  
      
      
    Rating
    The classics of the canon of eleven centuries of Spanish literature are covered, from Berceo, Cervantes and Calderón to García Lorca and Martín Gaite, but attention is also paid to lesserknown writers and works. The chapters chart a wide range of literary periods and movements. The volume concludes with a consideration of the influences of film and new media on modern Spanish literature.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip