This is the "Finding Background Information" page of the "Studies in Asian Art: Making Tradition in Modern Japan and Beyond (FA184B)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Studies in Asian Art: Making Tradition in Modern Japan and Beyond (FA184B)  

Course guide created for Professor Aida Yuen Wong by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2012 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/japanart Print Guide

Finding Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

Electronic Reference

 

Print Reference

Click on the book title to go to its LOUIS listing; click on the image to see it on Amazon.com.

See also the following for more books from the catalog:

Decorative Arts Reference

Cover Art
Art in the Modern Era : A Guide to Styles, Schools & Movements - Amy Dempsey
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N6490 .D415 2002
ISBN: 0810941724

International Dictionary of Art and Artists - James Vinson, ed.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N7425 .I67 1990
Vol. 1 (Artists) provides articles on the most important artists from the 13th to the 20th centuries. Each article presents essential facts on the artist's career; the most important public and private collections of the artist's work; a bibliography of books and articles on and by the artist; and a critical essay discussing the historical and critical aspects of the artist's work. In roughly chronological order, vol. 2 (Art) presents articles and reproductions of ca. 500 individual artworks regarded as the acknowledged masterpiece or a representative work of each selected artist.

Encyclopedia of World Art (17 volumes)
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N31 .E533
Comprehensive coverage of all countries, periods, and cultures. Includes lengthy, detailed articles on broad historical, conceptual/systematic, and geographical topics by an international group of specialists. Use the analytic dictionary/index in vol. 15 to locate information on specific topics. The second half of each volume presents plates of key works discussed in the essays. Extensive bibliographies end each article. Vols. 1-15 issued in installments from 1959 to 1968; vol. 16 ("World Art in Our Time," 1983) and 17 ("New Discoveries and Perspectives," 1987) present important supplements with separate indexes. Despite its age, this entire encyclopedia remains an essential resource for art research.

Contemporary Artists - Joann Cerrito, ed.; advisers, Jean-Christophe Ammann ... [et al.].
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N6490 .C6567 1996
Offers thorough profiles of over 800 of the most significant artists of the later 20th century working in painting, graphics, sculpture, mixed media, and performance, video, and computer art. Entries include biographical data, comprehensive lists of individual exhibitions, selected lists of important group exhibitions, public collections that include works by the artists or permanent public installations, primary and secondary bibliographies, personal statements (when available), and critical essays. Many entries also feature illustrations.

Contemporary Photographers - George Walsh, Colin Naylor, Michael Held, eds.
Call Number: Main Library - Stacks - + TR139 .C66
Detailed profiles on 750 of the most prominent 20th-century photographers and photojournalists. Entries include biography, exhibitions, major collections, bibliography, personal statement (if available), representative photograph, and a critical essay.

Contemporary Designers - Sara Pendergast, ed.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NK1390 .C655 1997
ISBN:
Provides detailed biographical, bibliographical, and critical information about the background, work, and philosophies of important contemporary designers working in a wide spectrum of design fields that include ceramics, costume, environmental, exhibition, fashion, film, furniture, glass, graphic, industrial, interior, product, stage, textile, and typography (among many others). The international scope focuses on living designers but includes entries on deceased artists whose work continues to influence the course of design. Each entry includes a chronological list of the designer's important works, primary and secondary bibliographies, a personal statement (when available), a critical essay on the designer, and a photograph or illustration of a representative work.

The Oxford Companion to the Decorative Arts
ISBN: 0198661134
Handbook providing introductory, authoritative surveys on the crafts of lithographing, ceramics, textiles, costume, wood-working, metal-working, glass-making, bell-founding, paper-making, clock-making, typography, landscape gardening, photography, armor, enamels, lacquer, jewelry, toys, lace-making, and embroidery. Includes articles on particular crafts, periods and cultures, materials, tools and techniques, technologies, artisans, schools, styles, and processes.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
ISBN: 0195113071
Offers a combination of historical material and critical discussions of contemporary aesthetics, defined as "critical reflection on art, culture, and nature." Includes hundreds of alphabetically arranged essays on individuals, concepts, periods, theories, issues, and movements in the history of aesthetics, ranging from the Greco-Roman era to the present and written by philosophers, art historians, literary theorists, psychologists, feminist theorists, legal theorists, sociologists, and anthropologists. Articles conclude with good bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. Coverage of most major art forms appears in composite entries arranged under one headword, combining conceptual and historical overviews with in-depth analyses of issues and ideas. Presents excellent articles on certain key artists and a wide array of art topics, such as "abstract expressionism," "art market," "constructivism," "pop art," "representations," "sociology of art," "taste," and "theories of art." Vol. 4 concludes with an index that points to all articles and passages relevant to the study of art.

 

Lisa Zeidenberg

Profile Image
Academic Outreach Librarian for Creative Arts
Contact Info
Main Library, Farber Level 2
781-736-4697
lzeidenb@brandeis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip