This is the "Getting Started" page of the "English and American Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

English and American Literature   Tags: american_literature, english, english_literature, literary, literary_criticism, literature  

This guide is an overview of the different resources available for research in English and American Literature.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Resource

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection contains comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts. 

 

BrandeisScholar Quickset Search

 

BrandeisScholar Owl

BrandeisScholar Language and Literature Quickset
Use this to search within multiple literature databases at one time.This is an easy way to do an initial search for articles and books in broad topic areas.

Click here to search the quickset.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Biographical Resources

Use these key reference resources to come up with topics and to find background information, overviews and biographies. For a complete list of reference resources, scroll down to the "More Getting Started Databases in BrandeisScholar" box.

  • Oxford English Dictionary  
      
    Use this historical dictionary to trace the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
  • Literature Resource Center  
      
    A premier resource for information on literary figures, use Literature Resource Center to find biographies, critical essays, a comprehensive list of writings, sidelights about the author's development and a listing of critical sources.
  • Literature Online (LION)  
      
    Primarily known as an e-book and e-text database, LION also contains dictionaries, encylopedias and online criticisms. Good for locating biographical information, a list of the author's works, and criticisms.
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium: Literature  
      
    Contains full-text of key literature reference works published by OUP, including titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series.
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select  
      
    Use this database to locate critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC--Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study.

More "Getting Started" Resources in BrandeisScholar

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patrick Gamsby
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Library Technology Services

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip