Guides to theory and criticism
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
An indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Includes more than 240 entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. - Oxford Reference Online Premium: Literature

Comments (0)
Biographical Information
Locating books and journals
Find Books
- LouFind
The online catalog of the Brandeis University Libraries. Use LouFind to locate books, journals, newspapers, magazines, government documents and more.
- WorldCat
Books and other materials held in most academic, research and large public libraries worldwide. Useful to identify and locate material not owned by Brandeis.
Find Journals
- e-Journals A-Z list
Use the E-Journals A-Z List to find out if a journal is available full-text online. Bear in mind, the E-Journals A-Z only lists electronic journals. Search LOUIS to find out if a journal is available in print in the library.
Not finding what you need at Brandeis?
- Interlibrary Loan
A library service that allows you to easily borrow books and request articles from another library.
- Boston Library Consortium
A cooperative borrowing program that allows you to borrow books from 19 academic and research institutions in the greater Boston and New England area.
Special Collections
Special Collections holds the rare books and manuscript collections of the library. The department is located on Goldfarb 2, and collections are available for your research by appointment. Feel free to contact Sarah Shoemaker, Special Collections Librarian, at sshoemak@brandeis.edu to ask questions. For more information, see the Special Collections LibGuide.
- Jane Eyre first editionThe first edition of Jane Eyre appeared in a three-volume set, a popular format for the time. The first edition sold out within three months, which was unprecedented. A first edition of this book is extremely rare, because most copies of this edition were read to pieces.
- Jane Eyre first edition on the Internet ArchiveBrandeis's copy of the first edition of Jane Eyre is available online on the Internet Archive.
- A History of British BirdsSpecial Collections holds the 1832 edition of Thomas Bewick's A History of British Birds, which the character of Jane Eyre reads in the novel.
- The Mill on the FlossThe 1860 edition of The Mill on the Floss and a Fine Press edition are both available in Special Collections.
- Charles DickensSee a list of Charles Dickens material in Special Collections going back to 1838.
Special Collections Librarian |
Contact Info Archives & Special Collections Goldfarb Library, Level 2 Brandeis University Waltham, Massachusetts Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Director, University Archives & Special Collections |
Contact Info Archives & Special Collections Goldfarb Library, Level 2 Brandeis University Waltham, Massachusetts tel. 781-736-4641 sshoemak@brandeis.edu Send Email |




Loading...
