About this guide
Welcome to the ENG-11A research guide. On these pages you'll find information about the different resources available for locating poetry and short stories. Please contact Anne Woodrum or Sarah Shoemaker if you have questions about using these resources.
Suggested Keywords
poem, poems, poetry, poe*, ballad, ode, elegy, verse, sonnet, short story, short fiction, sketch, tale
Poetry indexes & full-text collections
- African American Poetry (library database)
Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, from the earliest published African American poem to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success. - American Poetry (library database)
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century. - Columbia Granger's World of Poetry (library database)
The definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies. Use this resource to determine if your poem has been anthologized. - English Poetry, Second Edition (library database)
Contains over 183,000 poems, essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 printed sources, more than 2,700 poets are represented.
More full-text resources to search for poetry & short stories
- Accessible Archives (library database)

Includes 18th & 19th century American journals, magazines and newspapers. Includes "Godey's Ladys Book," one of the first women's magazines featuring poems and stories. Also contains a collection of 19th century African American newspapers. - America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876
Fully text-searchable facsimile images of more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century. - American Memory (web resource)
A gateway to digital collections produced and maintained by the Library of Congress. The site provides access to more than 7 million digital items from over 100 historical collections. - American Periodicals Series (library database)
A selection of magazines, journals and other periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including literary and professional journals, women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. - Early American Fiction (library database)
Full-text copies of more than 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period. - Early English Books Online (library database)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (library database)
Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. - Google Books (web resource)
A searchable archive of the full texts of books and periodicals scanned from publishers and libraries. - Internet Archive: Text Archive (web resource)
A freely accessible library of digitized collections from major research and academic libraries. - 19th Century Newspapers
A collection of digital facsimile images from numerous newspapers encompassing the entire 19th century from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States; features full-page layout as well as single articles, and includes advertisements - Project Gutenberg (web resource)
A searchable collection of over 19,000 e-books whose copyright has expired in the USA (pre-1923). - Women Writers Online (library database)
Contains full-text works by pre-Victorian women writers. Coverage is from 1400 to 1850 and texts can be sorted by author, title, or date.
Indexes to newspapers & periodicals
- 19th Century Masterfile
Contains over 60 subject indexes to periodicals, newspapers and books published prior to 1925. - Readers Guide Retrospective

Indexes the most popular periodicals published in the U.S. from 1890-1982, the Atlantic Monthly (1890-1982), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1890-1912), Harper's (1889-1982), Scribner's Magazine (1890-1939), The Century (1890-1930), and the Yellow Book. - Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 (Print Resource: call number Reference Z2005 .H6)
Identifies the authors of articles and stories published in 45 major Victorian periodicals. Available in print in the library, call no. Reference Z2005 .H6.
Research & Instruction Librarian |
Anne WoodrumContact Info:
Main Library, Farber Level 2
781-736-4622
woodrum@brandeis.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
English and American Literature
Main Library, Farber Level 2
781-736-4622
woodrum@brandeis.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
English and American Literature
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait