A. How long does it take?B. How do you contact me?C. Where do I pick up my items?D. Where do I return my items?E. Who is eligible?F. Is there a charge?G. What can I request?H. How many items can I request?J. How long is the loan period?
Articles/Book chaptersBooks/Films/CDsDissertations
Accessing Harvard LibrariesBoston Library Consortium borrowingJADS for facultyOCLC Reciprocal Faculty BorrowingRLG Shares access program
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Interlibrary Loan  Tags: ill interlibrary_loan resource_sharing brandeis_library_information  

Register as a new user. Login to your ILL account. How to use interlibrary loan. Interlibrary loan policies.
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/interlibraryloan  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dissertations             Print Page
  
 

Where can I find the work of Brandeis students?

Senior honors theses – in Archives only

Masters theses – In Archives or the Institutional Repository

For information on Brandeis theses and dissertations go to  the Robert D. Farber University Archives and Special Collections Department.

Ph.D.Most dissertations written by Brandeis students are available in full-text via the Dissertations and Theses@Brandeis database. We also have a print, circulating copy in the stacks. Search for the title in Louis.

 

Brandeis also has materials from other institutions:

Online full-text: Dissertations & Theses - through Boston Public Library (BPL)

NOTE: Access provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library eCard

Print or microfilm: We also buy interesting works done elsewhere, look for titles in Louis.

 

How can I obtain materials not available at Brandeis?

Search WorldCat to see if a copy of the thesis or dissertation you want is available at another library.  WorldCat lists locations, and sometimes if you’re lucky, a URL to the full-text.

In the Worldcat record of the thesis or dissertation, click on the Get It! button to request to borrow it through Interlibrary Loan.

If the only copy of the thesis is the original copy held by the degree-granting institution, it is unlikely that they will lend it, but we can still try through ILL.

You may be able to buy a copy online from ProQuest (UMI) which controls the reproduction of most U.S. dissertations and thesis. Cost =$36 for pdf, or $43 for unbound paper. Sometimes (not often) there is an embargo and the item cannot be obtained.

 
 

Tip

Citations and abstracts of thesis and dissertations can be found through a variety of databases, but especially Dissertations Abstracts Online (OCLC)

 

Ordering via ILL

The best way to submit ILL requests for theses and dissertations is from the WorldCat database! (Not the Dissertations Abstracts Online (OCLC) database).

But before you click Get It! check if we have full-text on-line!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait