Accessing a database late at night?
Please note: Our E-Resource providers commonly run their maintenance windows between 12:00AM and 2:00AM so a resource may be temporarily unavailable.
If you are unable to access a resource please wait a few minutes and try again. If the resource is persistently unavailable, please email us at e-resources@brandeis.edu
Known problems with specific databases
- ARTstor
- EBSCOhost (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, etc.)
- Gale
- JSTOR
- LexisNexis
- Naxos Music Library
- Journals@Ovid
- ebrary
Why can’t I view
images?
In order to view images on ARTstor, your browser must be set
to allow pop-up windows and Enable Java.
If you get a message saying you need to download a Java plug-in, follow the on-screen prompts to download and install the plug-in.
I am having difficulty viewing .SHW files.
SHW files are ARTstor Offline Image Viewer presentations. To view them, you need to download the ARTstor Offline Image Viewer (OIV).
If you're having trouble opening Offline Image Viewer presentations (.SHW files), please follow these directions:
- Log in to ARTstor (you will be prompted to register if you don't yet have an account).
- From the Tools menu (on the far right), choose "Download offlinepresentation tool (OIV)."
- Select PC or Mac and click the Download button.
- When downloading is complete, install the image viewer on yourcomputer.
- You should then be able to view the presentation files.
More information and Offline Image Viewer FAQ
For further help with ARTstor, please see the Guide to Using ARTstor at Brandeis.
EBSCOhost (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier etc.)
Why can't I get the full
text of an article?
EBSCOhost frequently includes a combination of index-only and full text
coverage for the same publication, and it sometimes does not include full text
for the latest issues due to publisher restrictions. To determine what years of
a publication have full text available, in EBSCOhost, look for the line which
reads "Full Text.” Note that these dates may differ from the years listed
under "All Issues", which include both index-only and full text
coverage.
Why can’t I get the full text of an article?
Gale frequently includes a
combination of index-only and full text coverage for the same publication, and
it sometimes does not include full text for the latest issues due to publisher
restrictions. When you click on the
button, you will see a screen that gives the
full-text electronic holdings availability information in red below the name of
the resource. To see the holdings availability information in LOUIS, click
“InternetResources” under the column “Call Number (Click for availability)”.
If the volume and year of the article you are looking for is not included in our subscription, you may submit an ILL request for the article.
I am having problems loading or printing PDFs of articles from JSTOR.
Please see the Trouble viewing PDFs page for troubleshooting tips. Common PDF loading/viewing problems can be solved by upgrading your PDF reader to the latest version
JSTOR also has an Article Help page that may be helpful
Firefox users: If you click on a PDF link in JSTOR and get an error message that says that the file is damaged, there may be a problem with the Adobe Firefox plug-in in your browser. Follow the instructions below for a workaround:
- Open up the Firefox browser
- Go to the Tools menu, choose Applications
- Find content type Adobe Acrobat Document, under Action, choose Use Adobe Reader (default)
- Click OK
I am having problems accessing LexisNexis. It is extremely slow or I am being asked for a login, the page doesn’t load, or I am getting an error message.
Try clearing the cache on your browser. See Clearing cache instructions for help. Please also see this page for some troubleshooting tips.
I am getting an error
message when I try to access
Our subscription to
If
I was using an e-journal through Ovid and closed the browser without logging out. I went back in to try to access the journal again, but got a message that says that the Ovid license limit has been exceeded.
Our license for Ovid allows for one concurrent user only and users must log out by clicking "Log Off" in the upper right corner of the screen when they are finished using the database. Please clear the cache and cookies on your browser and close and reopen the browser, and try accessing the journal again. If this doesn’t work, wait and try again in a little while.
ebrary
Ebrary functionality is now on the web and there is no need to download a Reader client except for the text-to-speech function.
Ebrary facilitates research and document exploration. Use the powerful search capabilities to gradually narrow your focus by specifying subjects, keywords, authors, publishers, publication years, or other information available for the documents. To learn more about Ebrary's features please see the quick start guide.
At any time, you can explore the search results.
- View the document's table of contents, and see a ranking based on the relevance of your search term(s) in each chapter.
- Search the document for additional terms.
- Copy text.
- Print pages.
- Save citations to RefWorks or EndNote.
- If you sign in, you can highlight text, add notes, and organize information on your personal bookshelf into folders and emal your notes to yourself or to a classmate.
Before you install the ebrary Reader, please check the following web browser settings:
- JavaScript is enabled
- Cookies are enabled
- Pop-ups are allowed for *.ebrary.com
The ebrary Reader is supported for the following browsers on Windows XP and Windows 2000 Professional:
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 and later (NOTE: Internet Explorer 8 is not supported at this time. If you have downloaded and installed IE8, it is recommended that you uninstall IE8 and revert to IE7.)
- Firefox 2.0.0.20 and later
- Mozilla 1.7 and later
The AOL browser, MSN browser, Netscape 6, Opera, and ISP-branded browsers (versions of Internet Explorer your ISP provided to you) are not supported.
Windows Vista SP1
Supported browsers:
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 and later (NOTE: Internet Explorer 8 is not supported at this time. If you have downloaded and installed IE8, it is recommended that you install IE8 and revert to IE7.)
Instructions for installing the plug-in
These instructions can also be found on the ebrary site.
The ebrary Plug-in Reader is a browser plug-in. The installation varies depending on the operating system and browser that you use.
If you do not have the ebrary Plug-in Reader installed, Internet Explorer prompts you to install it when you try to use it.
NOTE: Internet Explorer 8 is not supported at this time. If you have downloaded and installed IE8, it is recommended that you uninstall IE8 and revert to IE7.
To install the ebrary Plug-in Reader:
- Call up a document in ebrary.
- Click on the
button. - In the window that opens, click on the yellow bar at the top of the window and select "Install This Add-on for All Users on This Computer" and follow the prompts.
- After you accept the License Agreement, you can use the ebrary Plug-in Reader.
Note: If you have difficulties installing the ebrary Plug-in Reader, please refer to this troubleshooting guide.
You may need to refresh or relaunch your browser.
If you do not have the ebrary Plug-in Reader installed, Firefox prompts you to install it when you click a document title.
To install the ebrary Plug-in Reader:
- Call up a document in ebrary.
- Click on the
button. - In the window that opens, click the "Install Missing Plugins" button on the top yellow bar and follow the prompts.
- After you accept the License Agreement, Firefox installs the ebrary Plug-in Reader.
You may need to refresh or relaunch your browser.
- Call up a document in ebrary.
- Click on the
button. - In the window that opens, click the click the "Install Missing Plugins" button on the top yellow bar.
- On the next window click the "Manual Install" button.
- On the next page, click the "Download ebrary Reader for Windows now" link and follow the prompts.
- After you accept the License Agreement, Firefox installs the ebrary Plug-in Reader.
You may need to refresh or relaunch your browser.
To install the ebrary Plug-in Reader:
- Click to download the ebrary Reader installer.
- Save the install file to your desktop.
- If the installer does not launch automatically, double-click the ebraryReader.exe file.
- Follow the installer directions.
You may need to refresh or relaunch your browser.
These instructions can also be found on the ebrary site.
The ebrary Reader is supported for the following browsers on Mac OS X version 10.2 and later:
- Firefox 1.0 and later
- Safari 1.1 and later
NOTE: If you are using Firefox 3 on a Mac running Leopard, please see this page.
The AOL browser, Netscape, Internet Explorer, Opera, iCab, Camino, and Mozilla (non-Firefox versions) are not supported on Mac OS.
To install the ebrary Plug-in Reader:
- Click to download the ebrary Mac installer.
- Double-click the ebraryReaderInstaller.dmg file to mount the installer. Your browser may do this automatically.
- Double-click the ebrary Reader Installer file with the blue VISE logo.
- Follow the installer prompts to complete the installation.
- Relaunch your browser.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait