Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

E-Resources Help  Tags: eresources_help database_access e-resources e-journals brandeis_library_information  

Having trouble accessing an e-journal or database?
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/eresources  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Common Error Messages             Print Page
  
 

Unable to access the e-journals page or Get It links

When I click on the link to the Get It button button or the eJournals A-Z page, the page hangs up or times out and I am unable to access it.

If you are on-campus using a wireless connection, please check and make sure that you are connected to the secure wireless network (brandeis_unet_secure). See this page for instructions on how to connect to secure wireless:

http://lts.brandeis.edu/techhelp/connecting/on-campus/wireless/index.html

The regular (unsecure) wireless network and the guest wireless network have certain restrictions and certain ports are blocked due to security issues. At this time, access to Get It links and the e-journals page is restricted on the unsecure and guest wireless networks. Brandeis users should connect to secure wireless in order to have unrestricted access to our resources.

Wired connections will not have any problems accessing Get It links or the e-journals page.

 

EZproxy host error message

When I click on a link to an electronic resource I get the following error message.

There was a problem with access to:

Unfortunately, the electronic resource you have requested is not recognized by our database access system. Library and Technology Services apologizes for the problem. Please send an e-mail using this link: e-resources@brandeis.edu (Subject and message should be inserted automatically.) The system administrator will work to correct the problem and then notify you.

What does this mean and how can I access the resource?

This message means that the electronic resource needs to be added to our proxy system. If you get this error message, please click on the email link to send an email to e-resources@brandeis.edu.  Please tell us the name of the electronic resource you were trying to and how you tried to access it (through Brandeis Scholar, LOUIS, eJournals A-Z list, etc.) We will notify you when the problem has been resolved.

Please Note: If using a computer in a public cluster in the Libraries, you will need to email e-resources@brandeis.edu, since clicking the email link will not automatically send out an outgoing email.

 

Page cannot be displayed error

Please try clearing the cache on your browser. If you need help clearing your cache, please see clearing cache instructions.

 

Access Denied Error Message

I am getting an “Access Denied” message when I try to access a database.

Our subscription to this database may have a limit of simultaneous users and there may already be the maximum number of users logged in. Try again in a little while. You may need to clear the cache and delete your cookies. If you are still getting the message, please email e-resources@brandeis.edu.

 

Temporary proxy password message/ERROR Cache Access Denied

I got a pop-up box telling me that I need a temporary proxy password (not my UNet login). What is this and how can I access the database?

You may need to clear the cache and delete your cookies in your web browser. It may also be a configuration issue with your browser.

If you are using Internet Explorer,

Go to Tools->Internet Options->Connections tab->Click LAN
settings, Make sure all boxes under "Automatic configuration" and "Proxy
server" are UNCHECKED. If any boxes are checked, uncheck them and click
OK. Close and reopen the browser.

In Firefox 2.x, go to Tools->Options->Advanced->Network tab->Click Settings->Make sure the button “Direct connection to the Internet” is checked. Click OK and close and reopen the browser.

In Firefox 3.x, go to Tools->Options->Advanced->Network tab->Click Settings->Make sure the button "No proxy" is selected. Click OK and close and reopen the browser.

If this doesn’t solve the problem, please email e-resources@brandeis.edu with a description of the problem.

 

When I try to access a bookmarked link, I get an error message.

Links in LOUIS that say ONLINE ACCESS AVAILABLE do not have the proper URL and can’t be bookmarked.

It’s recommended that you access our databases through Brandeis Scholar, LOUIS, or the LTS website, rather than a bookmarked link for a specific database. You may also bookmark the Find Database by Subject page in Brandeis Scholar that contains the link to your frequently used database.

 

Library Technology Project Leader

Profile ImageKatherine Collins


Contact Info:
Goldfarb Library
(781) 736-4731
kcollins@brandeis.edu
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait