Introduction
The Brandeis University Libraries microform collection nearly doubles the size of our Libraries. These microforms contain important documents, newspapers, books, and rare materials that were filmed at other research libraries, so that you do not have to travel to these other institutions to use them.
Microform is the generic term for any material that has been reduced in size so small that it requires special optical equipment to view it. The most common form is microfilm, which is a roll of film, but other forms exist as well, like microfiche (commonly called "fiche") and microcard.
*Remember, provide yourself enough time to do your research, especially when working with microforms! It takes time to gather raw material, synthesize it, and draw conclusions about its relevance and meaning.
Microform Basics
There are three microform formats in the Brandeis University Libraries:
- Microfilm is a roll of film containing a series of frames or images much like a roll of film used in a camera.
- Microfiche is a transparent sheet of film made from 105mm film divided into cards that contains a series of micro-images or frames arranged in a grid pattern.
- Microcard is an opaque sheet of paper containing micro-images or frames arranged in a grid pattern. The most common size of microcards is 3" x 5". This format can be found among the microfiche.
Special equipment is used to read microforms. When you load the microform onto a reader, it magnifies the image to a size large enough for you to view it. Some machines have adapters so they can be converted to read several microform formats. Some machines also have printers attached to them, so that you can print out what you are viewing. Unfortunately, the information on microcards cannot be printed at the Brandeis University Libraries, because reader/printers can no longer be purchased for this format.
Searching LOUIS for Microforms
Why limit your search to only microform materials? Since microforms contain a wealth of primary text material, limiting your search in LOUIS to the microform format will quickly give you primary texts that are relevant to your topic. Also, many large microform sets have individual records in LOUIS. Limiting your search to microforms will save you time in identifying these items.
- Identify the topic words you will use for your search. Use encyclopedias and other background resources to identify key participants, dates, and publications (reports, newsletters, magazines, pamphlets, etc.) associated with your topic.
- Go to LOUIS and use the Advanced Search screen.
- Put your topic words (people, places, events) in the top box with the Keyword(s) Anywhere Search Type selected. Some examples:
warsaw ghetto uprising
(slaves or slavery) and united states
(women or wives or wife) and united states
Because microform records in LOUIS are both for large sets covering large subject areas and for individual records within large collections, you should try two different search strategies. Use broad topic words to find large microform collections (e.g., American Civil War, English literature), and use more specific topic words to find individual items within large collections (e.g., Sherman's march, Wordsworth).
- Put the type of primary text or texts you are looking for in the second box and select the Keyword(s) in Subject Search Type. You must
use one of the words listed below; primary text catalog records
generally use one of these words as part of their subject heading(s). Skip this step when looking for literary works not covered by any of the terms below.
sources [one of the most common words that identify primary texts]
document* [note the wildcard character at the end of this term]
personal narratives
correspondence
letters
diaries
interviews
speeches
quotations
periodicals [identifies newspapers, magazines, or journals]
manuscripts
reports*You may want to combine some of the above words using "or"
Example:
sources or personal narratives or correspondence or diaries - Near the bottom of the Advanced Search screen, limit the format to Microform.
- Click on the Go button.
For example, if you enter in LOUIS (Advanced Search) the search
Keyword(s) in Subject: sources or personal narratives or correspondence or diaries
Format: Microform
you will obtain results that include The Estlin Papers [1840-1884]: from Dr. William's Library, Gordon Square, London, six reels of microfilm containing letters and pamphlets relating to the anti-slavery movement in the United States.
Records for microforms in LOUIS will be either for large collections or for individual records within a collection. Determining whether the record is for a large collection or for an individual title within a collection is crucial to finding what you need. In many cases, large sets have guides or indexes to help you locate the specific items contained in them. Records in LOUIS for individual titles within a collection will give you enough information so that you can find the item.
LOUIS Records for Large Microform Collections
Many materials in microforms are published in large collections or sets, such as Early American Imprints or the American Culture Series. Some collections are records of a specific organization or publication, like The Times of London (from 1785), or The New York Times (from 1851). The LOUIS record will indicate the nature and the contents of the collection. For example:
SEC II
Selected from Donald Wing's Short title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales and British America and of English books printed in other countries, 1641-1700
Within this collection are photographic reproductions of thousands of English language books printed between 1641-1700. There is an index to this set, edited by Donald Wing, called The Short Title Catalogue. The call number for the index is also indicated on the LOUIS record.
In many cases, large microform collections have guides or indexes that help you locate specific information or items within the collection. These guides might be in print, microform, or electronic format. The LOUIS record will indicate whether or not the collection has a guide. Carefully read the Notes section in the full LOUIS record or click on the Call Number link, which will take you to the holdings record, to see if the collection has a guide. Guides generally have the same call number as the microform set, and they can be requested online through LOUIS.
LOUIS Records for Individual Items within a Large Collection
Many records in LOUIS for microform materials will be for individual items within a large collection or set. In these cases, the call number will either contain the exact reel number and (sometimes) the position on the reel, or it will contain the microfiche number within the large set. With this location information, you should be able to find the item you are looking for. Determining which large collection the individual item is a part can sometimes help you locate the material faster. This information can be found in the full LOUIS record under Series Name.
Online Microfilm Guides
Hundreds of the microfilm collections at Brandeis were produced by Gale Primary Source Media, which offers online searching and browsing of the guides to their microfilm collections. You can search the guides, browse by subject area, and browse by collection to see what these particular microfilm collections at Brandeis contain. Start here.
Locating Microforms
Most Brandeis University Libraries microforms are located in closed stacks and must be requested through a webform in the LOUIS catalog. However, some microfilm collections are located in open stacks in the Brandeis University Libraries: the Music Microform Collection, located on Farber Level 3; the Judaica Microform Collection, located on the Mezzanine level of Goldfarb in the Judaica reading room; and the Government Documents Microform Collection, located along the outer right wall on Goldfarb Level 1 near the Government Documents collection. The LOUIS record will tell you where to find what you are looking for.
In all areas, microforms are organized first by microform format (microfilm and microfiche/microcard) and then by call number.
How to Use Microforms
Click here for a guide to the microform readers in the Goldfarb Library, including features, locations, and how-tos. More information is available via the videos below.
Using a Microfiche Reader/Printer
Click the Play button below to see a video on using a microfiche reader and printer.

Loading Video Clip...
Using the MS7000 Reader/Scanner
Click the Play button below to see a video on using the MS7000 Reader/Scanner.

Loading Video Clip...
Using the Microcard Opaque Viewer
Click the Play button below to see a video on using the Microcard Opaque Viewer.

Loading Video Clip...
Special Collections Librarian |
Sarah ShoemakerArchives & Special Collections
Goldfarb Library, Level 2
Brandeis University
Waltham, Massachusetts
tel. 781-736-4641
sshoemak@brandeis.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Special Collections, Manuscripts, Rare Books, Primary Sources
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait