Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Special Collections  Tags: history humanities primary_sources literature medieval middle_ages renaissance judaica special_collections brandeis_library_information  

This is a guide to the Special Collections held at Brandeis, including manuscripts and rare books.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/specialcollections  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Judaica             Print Page
  
 

Brandeis scroll

This thank-you scroll (in the form of a Purim Megilah) was presented to Justice Louis D. Brandeis by the Jewish community of Jerusalem on July 11, 1919, in appreciation of his efforts on behalf of Zionism.

 
 

Judaica collection

An integral component of Special Collections, the Judaica Collection comprises more than 200,000 works housed throughout the library. The collection documents all aspects of Jewish history, religion, and culture, with a particular focus on the Bible, rabbinics, Jewish philosophy and mysticism, Hebrew and Yiddish literature, and the Holocaust.

The microfilm, microfiche, and electronic collections include a wide array of English, German, Hebrew, and Yiddish newspapers; reproductions of Hebrew manuscripts; works on Israel, Zionism, and American Jewish history; the personal papers of Abba Hillel Silver and Chaim Weizmann; rabbinical texts; important bibliographic databases; and other relevant research tools and collections.

Many rare and unique Judaica materials are located in Special Collections. Examples include incunabula, rare books, and manuscripts; artifacts; collections documenting the Leo Frank case and the Dreyfus Affair; the personal papers of Louis D. Brandeis, E.M. Broner, Helmut Hirsch, Rose Jacobs, and Stephen S. Wise; and many others.

See the Near Eastern and Judaic Studies guide, created by Judaica Librarian Jim Rosenbloom, for more information.

 

Special Collections Librarian

Profile ImageSarah Shoemaker


Contact Info:
Archives & Special Collections
Goldfarb Library, Level 2
Brandeis University
Waltham, Massachusetts
tel. 781-736-4641
sshoemak@brandeis.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Special Collections, Manuscripts, Rare Books, Primary Sources

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait