Brandeis LinksOutside Links
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Archival Resources  Tags: brandeis_library_information  

This guide will help you discover archival resources and how to use them. From primary sources to Brandeis publications to digitized materials, your archival research starts here.
Last update: Aug 21st, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/archives  Print Guide  RSS Updates

University Records             Print Page
  
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
 

Management and Transfer of University Records

Brandeis University does not have a formal program for the management, retention, and disposal of its records. Nonetheless, the University Archives actively collects, preserves, and provides access to selected archival records that document the university’s teaching, research, support, and administrative functions as well as its clubs, organizations, departments, and events.

 

If you have Brandeis University materials that you think we may be interested in, please contact us at ascdepartment@brandeis.edu or x64686 and we will be happy to speak with you about them.

 

Some tips for managing university records in your care:

Am I legally required to keep or properly dispose of records? There are legal requirements for the retention and disposal of university records that you may not be aware of. For legal advice regarding your records, please contact the General Counsel’s Office.

 

When do I know materials are ready to be transferred? The University Archives collects records that are considered inactive. This means that your department is no longer using them for day-to-day operations. Transferred materials will be available for use at any time by contacting the Archives  and making an appointment.

 

What are kinds of records should not be sent to the Archives? These would include records of no enduring value, for example, receipts, invoices, draft budgets, perfunctory correspondence or memoranda, and research materials and publications not produced by Brandeis faculty, students, or staff. We also do not acquire student records of any kind, as well as records that are readily available elsewhere, such as grant applications. Duplicates may be disposed, though in the case of university publications, we accept up to three copies.

 

Do you accept electronic records? What about my email? At this time electronic records need to be stored on CD or DVD in order for them to be transferred to the Archives. Action must be taken by the records holder in order to preserve important email by saving them to CD or DVD or printing them out.

 

How can I keep papers in good condition? We realize that storage conditions are almost never ideal. Files that tend to reach our office in the best condition have been stored in folders within file cabinets and then placed in boxes in the order in which they were originally filed, with folder titles intact.

 

If you have any questions, please contact Maggie McNeely at x64686 or ascdepartment@brandeis.edu.

 

 

Assistant Archivist

Profile ImageMaggie McNeely
Contact Info:
Archives and Special Collections
Farber Level 2 /MS 045
781-736-4686
mmcneely@brandeis.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
archives, archival, theses, Brandeis history, Brandeis architecture

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait