Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Near Eastern and Judaic Studies  Tags: bible biblical talmud mishnah midrash hebrew yiddish jews jewish holocaust israel kabbalah rabbinics dead sea scrolls aramaic responsa zionism  

Includes: The Ancient Near East, Bible, Judaica, New Testament, Islam, modern Middle East
Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/nejs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Judaica Special Topics             Print Page
  
 

American Jewry

 

American Jewish Yearbook

Print Copy: Judaica Ref E184 .J5 A55

 

North American Jewish Data Bank

The central repository of social scientific studies of North American Jewry. Primary functions are to (1) acquire, archive, and disseminate quantitative data sets and reports, both contemporary and historical and (2) encourage utilization of the archive through training and provide information about methods for studying Jewish communities. Our goal is to aid in understanding North American Jewish communities, and to improve the quality and utilization of research conducted about North American Jewry.

 

Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia

Judaica Ref DS115.2 .J49 1998

 

Concise Dictionary of American Jewish Biography

Judaica Ref E184 .J5 C653 1994


American Jewish Archives

 

American Jewish History Internet Resources


 
 

Holocaust

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust

Judaica Ref D804 .E53 1990

 

Bibliography on Holocaust Literature -- Edelheit

Judaica Ref Z6374 .H6 B48 1986 and supplements

 

Yizkor Books Online (New York Public Library)

 

SICSA -- Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism

Dedicated to an independent, non-political approach to the accumulation and dissemination of knowledge necessary for understanding the phenomenon of antisemitism. The Center engages in research on antisemitism throughout the ages, focusing on relations between Jews and non-Jews, particularly in situations of tension and crisis.

 

JewishGen: The Home of Jewish Genealogy

 

 

Women and Gender Studies

Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia

Judaica Ref DS115.2 .J49 1998


A Bibliography of Works on Jewish Women’s History with References to Works on Jewish Gender Studies, Jewish Masculinity, and Jewish Sexuality (Felicia Herman)

Judaica Ref HQ1172 .H48 1998

There are a number of bilbligraphies on this subject in the same call number range in Judaica Reference

Women's Studies International

 


 

Jewish Law

The multi-language bibliography of Jewish law (Rakover)

Judaica Ref BM520.65 .R28 1990

There are other bibliographies in the same call number range in Judaica Reference

 

See also:

Judaica Text Resources: Rabbinics

 

 

 

Judaica Librarian

Profile ImageJim Rosenbloom


Contact Info:
Goldfarb Library, Mezzanine
781-736-4688
Rosenbloom@Brandeis.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Judaism, Islam, Near East, Classics

 

Israel and Zionism

New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel

Judaica Ref DS149 .N56 1994

 

Education

DataJEM

Jewish Education Materials (for classroom or group use)

 

Yiddish

Yiddish Studies

See the separate guide created by Judith Pinnolis

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait