Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Sociology  Tags: sociology  

This guide provides an overview of resources available to the Brandeis community in the field of sociology.
Last update: Sep 02nd, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles             Print Page
  

SOCIOLOGY Search in Brandeis Scholar

 

To search Brandeis Scholar for articles in multiple sociology databases at the same time:

1) Click on the link below. (You may be asked to login with your Unet ID and password along the way.)

You will see the QuickSearch screen with the Sociology quickset pre-selected.

2) Enter your keyword(s) in the search box on top and the system will begin searching all of the databases in your set.

(Note: to see a list of databases being searched, just click on the word Sociology).

It takes a little time to search all of the databases at once, so have a little patience. The results will be worth it!

 

Find Articles & Databases

Start with the databases below to find articles on your topic.

  • SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)  
      
    To find articles in sociology, the best source to start with is SocINDEX.
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)  
      
    Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Proquest sociology  
    Provides access to the full-text of more than 170 journals in sociology and social work.
  • JSTOR Sociology  
      
    JSTOR is an important archive of scholarly publications and full-text articles. It often does not contain the last 1-3 years of a publication. This is the Sociology subset of JSTOR.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI)  
      
    Indexes 5,000 scholarly journals across 50 disciplines in the social sciences, including sociology.
  • ALL SOCIOLOGY DATABASES in Brandeis Scholar  
      
    This links to a collection of databases that include scholarly articles in Sociology. It includes SocIndex (see above).
 
 

Electronic and Print Journals

 

To locate some major e-journals in sociology, do a search for SOCIOLOG* in the Brandeis E-Journals A-Z list - ejournals.brandeis.edu

Or you can search for both print and electronic journals in the JOURNALS tab of the LOUIS online catalog - louis.brandeis.edu

 

Starter's Guide to Online Research


Just getting started? Brandeis Librarians recommend you watch these online video tutorials to help you jump-start your library research!

screencast images

Video tutorial: Why Not Just Google? - When is Google the best tool for finding information, and when do you need Brandeis library resources for your research? Find out in this tutorial!

Video tutorial: Brandeis Scholar - How to use Brandeis Scholar, the library's gateway to the scholarly resources available online at Brandeis for your research. Search for ebooks, journal articles, images, and more through Brandeis' Scholar. Get resources for your research without needing to visit the Library!

Video tutorial: How to Find Journals - How to find a specific journal at the Brandeis Library, whether it is available electronically, in print, or on microform.

 

Want to see more online video tutorials? Go to this webpage!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait