1. Create your RefWorks account2. Saving citations to RefWorks3. Organizing your RefWorks library4. Creating bibliographies5. Cite in-text with Write-N-Cite6. Share citations with RefShare7. Import citations from EndNote into RefWorks8. Off-Campus Access to RefWorks
1. Installing Zotero2. Saving citations to Zotero3. Organzing your Zotero library4. Creating bibliographies5. Import/ Export citation library6. Advance tips and tricks
1. Install EndNote2. Create an Endnote Libray3. Add Citations to an EndNote Library4. Generate Citations & Bibliographies in MS WordFAQ
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Management  Tags: citations endnote refworks zotero  

This guide provides an overview of three citation managers offered at Brandeis, as well as a information on print and online citation guides.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/citations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

6. Advance tips and tricks             Print Page
  
 

Word processor integration

Using the plugins listed below you can easily cite references from your Zotero library as you write your research paper or other document.

  • Microsoft Word users can install our MS Word plug-in.
  • OpenOffice and NeoOffice users can install our OpenOffice extensions.
  • Individuals using other tools can take advantage of Zotero's ability to export to the clipboard to paste bibliographies into any application. To export to the clipboard, right-click (control-click on Macs) on one or more references that you've highlighted, select “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s),” choose “Copy to Clipboard” from the pull-down menu, and select the citation style in which you want to export the bibliography. You will now be able to paste your bibliography directly into your document.
 

Make Zotero portable

Using a USB flash drive you can make your Zotero library portable!

1. Install Portable Firefox for Win or Mac according to the directions. Then, run Portable Firefox and install Zotero.

2. Next Move your Zotero library

Zotero stores everything on your computer in a subdirectory of your Firefox profile directory. In most cases, you will find your Zotero files here:

On a Mac:
/Users//Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles//zotero

On Windows:
C:\Documents and Settings\\ApplicationData\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\\zotero

On Windows Vista:
C:\users\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\\zotero

You can also locate your data directory by going to the Zotero preferences under the Actions gear icon menu and clicking “Show data directory” on the Advanced pane.

With Firefox closed, copy this directory onto your external drive. Remember the location for step 3.

3. Specify the location of your library

Open the Preferences Menu in Zotero/Portable Firefox. You can access Preferences either from the Actions (gear icon) menu in the Zotero pane or through the Firefox Tools menu → Add-ons window (click the Preferences button in the Zotero section).

Click on “Advanced” in the Preferences Menu

Click on “Custom” under Storage Locations to specify the external drive location of your Zotero library. The “Select a Zotero Data Directory” pop-up will appear. Once you select the directory, Zotero will restart Portable Firefox with the contents of your library.

 

OpenURL

 

 

 

 

 

You have probably seen the icon in many article databases. Clicking this button allows you to easily connect to full text articles online. Zotero offers this same feature.

You can configure Zotero to find full-text resources at Brandeis University click the in your Zotero window. Select Preferences in the field labeled Resolver insert the following URL:
http://otto.mainlib.brandeis.edu:9003/sfx_local

Then click OK. Once this is setup, you can click the Locate button on any citation you're viewing to search for the item online.

 

 

Library Technology Project Leader

Profile ImageKatherine Collins


Contact Info:
Goldfarb Library
(781) 736-4731
kcollins@brandeis.edu
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait