Tip
Watch a Video from Yale on importing search results from PUbMed to EndNote or scroll down the page for directions on how to filter from many of our other databases
EndNote Exporter List
Google Scholar Citations
- Go to GoogleScholar. Click on the Schlolar Preferences link to the right of the Scholar search box.
- Scroll to the bottom of the Scholar Preferences Page, and in the "Bibliographic Manager" section, click the radio button next to "Show link to import citations into"
- Choose EndNote
- Click the Save Preferences button
- When you do a search you will note the "Import into EndNote" link under the entry. Click
- Choose "Open with EndNote..."
- Select (or reselect) your library
- Highlight the filter: Google Scholar - CC and click "Choose"
- Reference will import on its own
See also Instructions at the EndNote Web Site about using Google Scholar
How to ...
EndNote makes it possible to move citations into an EndNote Library multiple ways. This section will talk briefly about each technique and then provide an instruction chart for obtaining some commonly used databases at Brandeis.
Connecting
A connection file allows you to import references from library catalogs
and a few public databases such as PubMed that don't require a password.
- Go to Tools menu > Online Search > Brandeis U ...
- When the connection has been established, an empty Retrieved References window opens
- Enter your search request into EndNote's Search window
- Click Search
- EndNote searches and displays the number of references found
- Click OK to retrieve the reference(s)
Filtering Generally, for subscription databases that require a password, EndNote uses the import definition files or "filters" that allow you to import references from the databases.
To use Filtering :
- execute your database search
- mark your citations
- view your marked items
- select citation export filter to EndNote
- select the filter from the dialog box
- export to EndNote
Direct Export to EndNote
Several database vendors support direct export to EndNote. Using this option eliminates the need to select a filter. Database vendors that currently support direct export include EBSCO, Web of Science, Project Muse, ProQuest and Science Direct.
To use Direct Export:
- execute your search
- mark your citations
- view your marked items
- select the direct export option to EndNote
Text-File Importing
In some cases you can save your results in a tab delimited text file (e.g. PubMed - watch the video at the top of the page or see step-by-step instructions below) and then import the results into EndNote using File >Import
Instructions for connecting and filtering from many of our databases
| Endnote Information | |
ABC-CLIO
|
To import tab-delimited search results into EndNote
1. Perform your search |
| Brandeis University LOUIS catalog | Connection file: Brandeis U.enz
|
CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
|
Text file importing 2 choices:
1) Option to Use the Get It button to import individual citations (CSA has a relationship with RefWorks and no longer offers direct export to EndNote) 2) Option to save file to your computer and import to EndNote In Firefox:
In Endnote:
|
EBSCOhost Databases
|
IMPORTANT NOTE: Titles that do not have a Filter to work with the
Direct Export need to use the Refman Generic filter. Refman is noted
next to those titles. The use of the Refman "Generic" reference type
will cause the reference not to display properly (particularly in
APA5). You must manually change the reference type in order for the
reference to display properly as a journal article, newspaper article,
book, etc. |
| JSTOR | Filter files JSTOR EndNote Page
1. Perform your search |
OCLC First Search Databases
|
To Filter from OCLC FirstSearch databases 1. Mark those references to be saved |
| Project Muse | To direct-export citations (no connection file or filter needed): 1. Perform your search 2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote 3. Click "save marked results" 4. Click "email/export saved results" 5. Select the EndNote radio button under "export marked results to:" 6. Click "Export" |
Proquest
|
To direct-export citations 1. Perform your search |
| PubMed | Option 1. Connect from within EndNote to Pubmed Option 2. Text-File Importing From PubMed (Text instructions) |
| Science Direct | To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed): 1. Perform your search 2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote 3. Click "display checked docs" 4. Click "export citations" 5. Select "citations" or "citations+abstracts" to export 6. Select "RIS format" as your file format 7. Click "Export" |
| SciFinder Scholar | To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed): 1. Perform your search 2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote 3. From the file menu save the references as a "tagged text" files 4. Open EndNote and from the File menu import, select Import |
| Web of Science | To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed): 1. Perform your search 2. In the right hand box choose the records you wish to export into EndNote 3. Choose from the drop down menu what fields you want to submit and then click "Export to Reference Software" OR 5. Click "add to marked list" |
Research & Instruction Librarian
Jason Bernard![]() |
Contact Info:
Farber Library, Level 2
781-736-4740
jbernard@brandeis.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Economics, Sustainable International Development
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait