Overview
The "Cite While You Write" feature allows you to insert citations as you write your paper and create a bibliography. Citations from your EndNote library can be placed directly into the text of your MS Word documents. EndNote can automatically generate a bibliography in numerous citation formats (e.g., MLA, Turabian, ASA, or APA). EndNote commands display in a toolbar in Word and/or in the Tools menu.
Inserting Citations and generating a Bibliography
- Open the EndNote Libraries that contain the references you wish to cite.
- In EndNote, select the citation(s) you wish to insert in Word.
- Open the Word document and position the cursor at the location where you would like the citation.
- From the EndNote menu (in Word) select Insert Selected Citation
- Instant Formatting is enabled when you first start using Cite While You Write in Word.
- EndNote uses the currently selected style to format citations and update the bibliography each time a citation is inserted.
- If you want to change the style or layout of references, you must use the Format Bibliography command.
Formatting Citations and a Bibliography
- From the Tools menu in Word, go to the EndNote X2 submenu and select Format Bibliography. Problems seeing the EndNote toolbar icons or EndNote X2 submenu see instructions below.
- On the Format Bibliography tab, use the With Output Style option to select an output style to format references. It is okay to experiment with different styles because you can simply reformat again.
- Click OK to format all citations and build the bibliography.
- Note: If the style that you want is not listed in the Output Style list:
- In EndNote, go to the Styles drop down at top and choose Select Another Style
- Click Choose on your highlighted Style preference.
- The style should appear in the Styles drop down
How to Display EndNote Icons in Word
To display these icons in the toolbar
- From the View menu in Microsoft Word 2003, select Toolbars
- Tick the option for EndNote.
or
- From the Tools menu in Microsoft Word 2003, select Customize
- Select the Toolbars tab
- Scroll down until you see the EndNote option
- Tick the box, and close the window
If the EndNote icons are still not appearing check under Tools, Templates and Add-ins and select the 2 EndNote files (if they appear)
In Microsoft Word 2007 the EndNote X toolbar appears under the Add-Ins tab and the EndNote web toolbar appears in a separate EndNote Web tab.
If the EndNote icons do not appear anywhere in Word you will need to download the 2 add in files from EndNote - instructions are given on the following web page - http://www.endnote.com/support/faqs/CWYW/faq1.asp
Research & Instruction Librarian
Jason Bernard![]() |
Contact Info:
Farber Library, Level 2
781-736-4740
jbernard@brandeis.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Economics, Sustainable International Development
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait