Overview
EndNote is a personal citation and bibliographic management program that is available for free to the Brandeis community. It runs on both Macintosh and Windows computers. EndNote X4 is available this Fall for both Windows and Macintosh computers. Additionally, there is a Web based version that allows for sharing of citations named EndNote Web. All instructions below for EndNote X4 apply for earlier versions unless otherwise noted. LTS supports the most current version of EndNote when it becomes available at Brandeis.
EndNote helps researchers collect and organize references in a database file referred to as a Library. The program formats citations and creates bibliographies automatically in a word processor.
EndNote X5
NOTE: When downloading EndNote X5 from the Brandeis website, unzip and then put both files in the same new folder, then click the MSI file to install.
- Add file attachments to your web records and transfer to your computer
- View and annotate PDFs
- Update a reference automatically
- New Cite While You Write features
- Over 5,000 new and updated output styles
- Compare duplicate references quickly with auto-highlights and locked scrolling
- Maintain links to the original PDF file when importing PDFs to create new references
Features in EndNote X4
- Import and Search PDFs
- Quick Edit tab
- Transfer up to 10,000 references between desktop and web
- auto-hyperlink between in-text citations and the bibliography
- Use wildcard within search terms for better retrieval results
- Meets APA 6th style requirements
- Offers customizable short forms of footnote styles
- Includes automatic citation report of references used in Word documents
EndNote X4.0.2 Update for Windows
Exisiting EndNote X4 users can update their own installation using the Help menu>EndNote Progam Updates...option.
What's New in EndNote 4.0.2?
- Microsoft Word 2010 64-bit compatibility.
- The Word autogroup no longer changes the current library selection when using Cite While You Write.
- Inserting a citation into a footnote no longer produces an error in Word 2010
- PDF imports now search PubMed to complete citation data with additional fields not found
EndNote X4.0.2 Update for Mac
Download the file. Off-campus users will need to use wormhole to visit software.brandeis.edu manually.
Whats's New in EndNote 4.0.2
- Microsoft Word 2011 compatibility
- PDF Indexing- several improvements to indexing and minor UI changes
- Word 2008 on Leopard 10.6 no longer crashes after printing.
For a tour of features, visit EndNote Tour
A video demonstration of all new EndNote X4 features and how to use them is available on the EndNote site
About EndNote Web
- Link to Login
- Use Cite While You Write™ in Microsoft® Word to easily cite references in your paper
- Transfer references to and from EndNote on your desktop
- Share references with others who have EndNote Web
A video demonstration of all new EndNote Web can found at http://www.endnote.com/training/
QuickStart Contents
- Advisories (read first)
- Downloading EndNote with Windows
- Downloading EndNote with Mac and installation
- Advisories (read first)
- What is an EndNote library?
- Upgrading/converting old EndNote libraries
- Creating an EndNote library
- Creating references manually
- View and manage references
Loading Citations into an EndNote Library by Connecting and Filtering
- How to move citations into EndNote using its' connecting and filtering features
- Instructions for importing citations from many of our databases
Creating Citations and Bibliographies in Microsoft Word
- Overview
- Inserting citations and generating a bibliography
- Formatting citations and a bibliography
- How do I download a copy of EndNote?
- Where can I find the EndNote manual?
- Where can I get updated connection files and filters?
- Where can I get training on how to use EndNote?
- Who do I contact if I'm having problems?



Loading...
