1. Create your RefWorks account2. Saving citations to RefWorks3. Organizing your RefWorks library4. Creating bibliographies5. Cite in-text with Write-N-Cite6. Share citations with RefShare7. Import citations from EndNote into RefWorks8. Off-Campus Access to RefWorks
1. Installing Zotero2. Saving citations to Zotero3. Organzing your Zotero library4. Creating bibliographies5. Import/ Export citation library6. Advance tips and tricks
1. Install EndNote2. Create an Endnote Libray3. Add Citations to an EndNote Library4. Generate Citations & Bibliographies in MS WordFAQ
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Management  Tags: citations endnote refworks zotero  

This guide provides an overview of three citation managers offered at Brandeis, as well as a information on print and online citation guides.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/citations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

3. Organzing your Zotero library             Print Page
  
 

Organize your Zotero library

Zotero allows you to organize your records into collections. Each collection might correspond to a research project or a specific area of interest. “My Library” will always contain a master list of all of your records. These records are listed alphabetically. If you delete a record from “My Library” it will disappear completely from your collection.

To create a New Collection click on this icon located in the left panel. You will be prompted to give your collection a name. You can also add sub-collections within collections by creating a new collection, then dragging it into a collection. You can then add items to this collection, either by dragging them from the center pane over to the new collection, or by uploading the item to Zotero while the collection is open (highlighted).

Items can be added to other collections by dragging the item from the center column to the desired collection folder in the left column. This does not duplicate the item.

To rename a collection Right-click on the collection (control-click on Mac) and select Rename Collection from the drop-down menu. A dialog will prompt you to give the collection a new name.

To delete an item, select it and hit the Backspace or Delete key, or right-click (control click on Mac) and select “Delete Selected Item From Library…”

To remove an item from a collection select it and Right-click (control click on Mac) and select “Remove Selected Item”. This will only remove this item from the individual collection.

Individual items can be tagged to facilitate searching and organizing. Click on the item in the center pane, and then click on the Tags tab on the right pane. Some items saved from online catalogs will already carry the library's tags. You can add new tags by clicking on Add and typing in text. You can delete tags by clicking on the minus (-) icon.

 

Library Technology Project Leader

Profile ImageKatherine Collins


Contact Info:
Goldfarb Library
(781) 736-4731
kcollins@brandeis.edu
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait