1. Create your RefWorks account2. Saving citations to RefWorks3. Organizing your RefWorks library4. Creating bibliographies5. Cite in-text with Write-N-Cite6. Share citations with RefShare7. Import citations from EndNote into RefWorks8. Off-Campus Access to RefWorks
1. Installing Zotero2. Saving citations to Zotero3. Organzing your Zotero library4. Creating bibliographies5. Import/ Export citation library6. Advance tips and tricks
1. Install EndNote2. Create an Endnote Libray3. Add Citations to an EndNote Library4. Generate Citations & Bibliographies in MS WordFAQ
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Management  Tags: citations endnote refworks zotero  

This guide provides an overview of three citation managers offered at Brandeis, as well as a information on print and online citation guides.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/citations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

5. Cite in-text with Write-N-Cite             Print Page
  
 

What is Write-N-Cite?

Creating and exporting bibliographies as Word or other document types using RefWorks is easy to do.

But what about the references you want to cite within the body of your paper? Using the RefWorks Write-N-Cite tool, you can easily cite references from your RefWorks library as you write your research paper or other document.

 

Download and install Write-N-Cite

To begin using Write-N-Cite you first need to download and install the program.

To download and install Write-N-Cite, point your browser to the Write-N-Cite download and installation page, download the version of Write-N-Cite corresponding to the kind of computer you are using (PC or MAC) and what version of Microsoft Word you are using, and follow the links to the installation instructions provided.

 

     

    Using Write-N-Cite

    Cite in-text with Write-N-Cite

    Once you download and install Write-N-Cite, you can launch Write-N-Cite from within Microsoft Word by clicking the toolbar icon or by selecting it from the Tools menu or your program menu.

    To cite a reference in text as you write your paper:

    1. Put the cursor in your Microsoft Word document where you want to insert a reference.
    2. Launch Write-N-Cite within Microsoft Word (If you are not already you will be prompted to login to RefWorks):write n citewrite n cite
    3. Look at your RefWorks library in the Write-N-Cite window, and click the Cite button next to the reference you want to cite/insert. Modify/edit the citation by clicking on the Edit Citation link near the top of the Write-N-Cite window:

    Citations you add to your paper will look like {{54 Brandeis;}}. Don't worry though--these are just placeholders and your cited references will look normal when you're finished. The placeholder is what RefWorks reads when you go to format your paper which is covered below.

     

     

    Format your paper: append in-text citations to your document as a bibliography

    Whenever you cite references within your work, they also need to included in the bibliography which usually appears at the end of the document.

    To include the references you cited in-text in your bibliography:

    1. In the Write-N-Cite window, click Bibliography:

    2. In the window that appears, select the correct Output Style and select Create Bibliography.

    Write-N-Cite formats the citations you added within the text--they will no longer look like {{54 Brandeis}}, and appends a formatted bibliography of those citations to the end of the document.

     

    Library Technology Project Leader

    Profile ImageKatherine Collins


    Contact Info:
    Goldfarb Library
    (781) 736-4731
    kcollins@brandeis.edu
    Send Email

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait