1. Create your RefWorks account2. Saving citations to RefWorks3. Organizing your RefWorks library4. Creating bibliographies5. Cite in-text with Write-N-Cite6. Share citations with RefShare7. Import citations from EndNote into RefWorks8. Off-Campus Access to RefWorks
1. Installing Zotero2. Saving citations to Zotero3. Organzing your Zotero library4. Creating bibliographies5. Import/ Export citation library6. Advance tips and tricks
1. Install EndNote2. Create an Endnote Libray3. Add Citations to an EndNote Library4. Generate Citations & Bibliographies in MS WordFAQ
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Management  Tags: citations endnote refworks zotero  

This guide provides an overview of three citation managers offered at Brandeis, as well as a information on print and online citation guides.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/citations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Adding citations from most popular databases             Print Page
  
 

Databases

For instructions on how to direct export citations from databases to Zotero go here.

Databases with direct export

ARTSTOR
  1. Choose the citations to save by clicking the images.
  2. Under the tools menu select Save citions for selected images.
  3. When you have finished gathering your citations, under the tools menu select "View and export citations".
  4. Next select the type of software you want to export your citations into
  5. The software should launch, and you can then save your citations

 

 

Artstor database interface
EBSCO which includes (Academic Search Premier, America: History & Life, ATLA Religion Database, Business Source Premier, EconLit, Education Research Complete, Film & Television Literature Index, LGBT Life with Full Text, MLA International Bibliography, PsycArticles, PsycINFO, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, Teacher Reference Center) See complete list of EBSCO databases.

  1. Click on the add to folder iconicon to save records to your folder.
  2. Next click on the folder icon icon locate in top of the screen.
  3. Click on the export citations icon.
  4. Finally direct export your citations to EndNote or RefWorks.

JSTOR

Saving Citations

  1. Choose the citations to save by clicking the check box next to each one
  2. Click on the "Save Citation(s)" button
  3. The citation is now listed on your Saved Citations tab
  4. If you have not yet registered for or logged in to a MyJSTOR account, you will be prompted to

Exporting Citations

  1. In MyJSTOR, click the check box next to the citation or citations you want to export
  2. Click the type of software you want to export your citations into.
  3. The software should launch, and you can then save your citations
To export single citations without creating a MyJSTOR account click on the
Lexis Nexis is equipped with the direct export feature for RefWorks only. Just click on the Export Bibliographic References icon, always on the upper right hand corner of the search results screen or in the screen for an invididual article. This will lead you to a direct export screen.

Proquest

  1. Choose the citations to save by clicking the check box next to each one
  2. Click the export link.
  3. Click the type of software you want to export your citations into.
  4. The software should launch, and you can then save your citations

ScienceDirect

  1. Choose the citations to save by clicking the check box next to each one.
  2. Click the "Export Citations" icon located towards the top of the screen.
  3. On the next screen select an export format (EndNote or RefWorks).
  4. EndNote or RefWorks will automatically launch, you can then save your citations.

WorldCat supports direct export for EndNote and RefWorks. Select the individual records that you wish to save, then click the Export button.

 

Databases with save/import

PubMed only allows indirect export for EndNote and RefWorks.

  1. Choose your citations to save by clicking the check box next to each one record. To export all citations do not select any citations.
  2. From Send to, select File.
  3. Select MEDLINE from the Formt menu.
  4. Then save the file to your desktop as a text file (.txt)
  5. Log into RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
  6. Select “NLIM PubMed as the date source and the database.
  7. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
  8. Click Import.

EndNote users from the file menu in EndNote, select Import. Make sure the Import Option is set to PubMed NLM. If PubMed is not selected as the Import Option, use the drop down menu to select "Other Filters" and browse to find the PubMed filter.

ISI

  1. Choose your citations to save by clicking the check box next to each one record .
  2. Click on the "more options" link to reveal all of the citation management export options.
  3. If saving citations to EndNote click on the Save to EndNote, RefMan or ProCite button.

After you click the Save to EndNote, RefMan, ProCite button, the system launches a dialog box. Open with "Web Export Helper". EndNote will automatically launch. Open the library that you wish to export your citations to and they will be exported.

If saving citations to RefWorks

After you click the Save to EndNote, RefMan, ProCite button, the system launches a dialog box.

Save the file to your hard drive or to your desktop. ISI will automatically save the file as savedrecs.txt.

Open RefWorks.

Select the Import option.Select ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) for the Import Filter / Data Source.

Select a database.

Select a folder (Optional).

Select the savedrecs.txt file that you saved to your hard drive or to your desktop.

ISI user interface

 

 

 

Library Technology Project Leader

Profile ImageKatherine Collins


Contact Info:
Goldfarb Library
(781) 736-4731
kcollins@brandeis.edu
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait