1. Create your RefWorks account2. Saving citations to RefWorks3. Organizing your RefWorks library4. Creating bibliographies5. Cite in-text with Write-N-Cite6. Share citations with RefShare7. Import citations from EndNote into RefWorks8. Off-Campus Access to RefWorks
1. Installing Zotero2. Saving citations to Zotero3. Organzing your Zotero library4. Creating bibliographies5. Import/ Export citation library6. Advance tips and tricks
1. Install EndNote2. Create an Endnote Libray3. Add Citations to an EndNote Library4. Generate Citations & Bibliographies in MS WordFAQ
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Management  Tags: citations endnote refworks zotero  

This guide provides an overview of three citation managers offered at Brandeis, as well as a information on print and online citation guides.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/citations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

2. Saving citations to RefWorks             Print Page
  
 

Adding citations to RefWorks

Adding citations for articles and other resources you discover in databases and elsewhere into RefWorks is easy to do! As you add citations you will build your RefWorks library.

There are seven ways to add citations to RefWorks:

  1. Use Direct Export function in databases and export citations directly to RefWorks
  2. Save citations from databases to desktop/import saved file to RefWorks
  3. Add citations manually
  4. Use RefGrab-It to capture bibliographic information from web pages
  5. Import a single citation using
  6. Exporting Records from LOUIS
  7. Exporting Records from Brandeis Scholar
 

Direct Export from databases to RefWorks

"Direct export" from databases: Many databases provide a "direct export" function that allows you to add a citation or group of citations you find in a database directly to RefWorks without having to save any files to import manually. To use direct export:

  1. Mark/tag or save to folder the citations you want to add to RefWorks.
  2. Find and click on the Save, Export, Send to, or Download link or icon in the database (these options are different across our databases), then choose the "Direct Export to RefWorks" or "Save to RefWorks" option.
  3. The RefWorks login screen will appear. Login to your RefWorks account. RefWorks will display the message "Importing references, please wait...", and when finished will display "Import completed - [x] reference(s) imported," and a View Last Imported Folder link. You can then move the citation(s) into a folder of your choice in RefWorks.
 

Save citations from databases to desktop/import saved file to RefWorks

Export from database/Import to RefWorks: To add citations from databases without direct export, you need to save marked/tagged citations from the database to your computer as a text (.txt) file, which you can then import into RefWorks. Records from "desktop" citation management software (such as EndNote) can also be imported into RefWorks in this way.

  1. Mark/tag or save to folder the citations you want to add to RefWorks.
  2. Click the Save, Download, Export, or Send to link (these options are different across our databases).
  3. You will be prompted to save a text file (.txt)--save the file on the computer you are using.
  4. To import your citations into RefWorks, login to RefWorks, and under the References menu select Import. In the window that appears, access the drop-down menu next to Import Filter/Data Source, select the source of the data and then the resource you are importing from. You can also specify which folder in RefWorks you want to add the citations to.
  5. Click the Browse button to select the text file you just saved to your computer and click Import.
  6. RefWorks will display the message "Importing references, please wait...", and when finished will display "Import completed - [x] reference(s) imported," and a View Last Imported Folder link. You can then move the citation(s) into a folder of your choice in RefWorks.
 

Add citations manually

Add citation manually: you can enter a citation for a reference into RefWorks manually.

  1. Log into your RefWorks account. Pull down the References menu and select "Add New Reference."
  2. Input the information for your reference and save.
 

Add citations in web pages using RefGrab-It

Using RefGrab-It, you can easily capture and import citations to books and articles in web pages right into your RefWorks account.

The first step is to visit the RefGrab-It download and installation page and follow the instructions according to the browser you like to use (IE or Firefox).

Once you have RefGrab-It installed, it will appear in the links area of your IE toolbar or in the bookmarks toolbar in Firefox.

To use RefGrab-It:

  1. When you are on a web page you want to grab information from, just click on the RefGrab-It button in your toolbar or bookmark list (or IE users can select Favorites, Links, RefGrab-It if you do not have the RefGrab-It button in your toolbar).

  2. You will be brought to the RefWorks temporary results page where the data will be displayed. This page shows you

  • A link back to the web page where the information came from
  • Basic information grabbed from that web page
  • supplemental information that RefGrab-it has found related to the data you are capturin

Check out the Other tab to see any other information about the item(s) RefGrab-It found on the web page, which you can import into RefWorks if you want.

If you want to add the web page information RefGrab-It has found to your RefWorks account, click on the import button.

If you are not logged in to your account, you will be prompted to log-in. Otherwise, your records will appear in the Last Imported folder.

 

Use GET IT to import single citations - Configuration IN PROGRESS

Import using : If a button appears next to a citation that you want to add to your RefWorks library, click on the button, and in the window that appears, under the "Additional Services" option, select RefWorks Direct Export Tool.

The RefWorks login screen will appear behind the window. Login to RefWorks, and the selected citation will be added to your "Last Imported" folder.

 

Exporting Records from LOUIS

  1. Search LOUIS and select the records you wish to import into RefWorks. To do this, mark the boxes next to each record you want and then click on Save/Mail.
  2. Under "Record Format" select RefWorks Format leave the other fields blank and click Ok.
  3. Click the Save Selected button to save the file on you PC. Your selected records will now display in your web browser. From your web browser menu select File and Save Page As. Save the file as a text file.
  4. Next login into RefWorks. From the menu select References and click Import.
  5. From the Import Filter/Data Source pull-down menu select Brandeis University. From the Database pull-down menu select LOUIS Catalog. Then browse your desktop for the saved records file and click Import. The citations will then be imported.
  6. To view the imported citations click on the View Last Imported Folder.
 

Exporting Records from Brandeis Scholar

  1. Login to Brandeis Scholar
  2. Do a search and click on basket icon icon next to desired records to save them to My Citations.
  3. Click on My Research and view My Citations.
  4. Select records you wish to import by checking boxes to the left of citations.
  5. Click on the Save/Send link.
  6. In the pop-up box click on Save link.
  7. Choose RefWorks in the Record format drop-down menu.
  8. Choose desired option from Encoding drop-down menu.
  9. Click Save button. Note: It may be necessary to enable pop-ups.
  10. Login to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  11. Your citation(s) will automatically be imported into the Last Imported Folder. You may view the records or move them to the folder of your choice.
 

Library Technology Project Leader

Profile ImageKatherine Collins


Contact Info:
Goldfarb Library
(781) 736-4731
kcollins@brandeis.edu
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait