1. Create your RefWorks account2. Saving citations to RefWorks3. Organizing your RefWorks library4. Creating bibliographies5. Cite in-text with Write-N-Cite6. Share citations with RefShare7. Import citations from EndNote into RefWorks8. Off-Campus Access to RefWorks
1. Installing Zotero2. Saving citations to Zotero3. Organizing your Zotero library4. Creating bibliographies5. Import/Export citation library6. Advanced tips and tricks
1. Install EndNote2. Create an Endnote Library3. Add Citations to an EndNote Library4. Generate Citations & Bibliographies in MS WordFAQENDNOTE CONNECTION FILES
This is the "Overview" page of the "Citing Sources?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Citing Sources?   Tags: bibtex, citations, citing_sources, endnote, mendeley, refworks, zotero  

This guide provides an overview of citation managers offered at Brandeis, as well as a information on print and online citation guides.
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/citations Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Citation?

What is a citation? A citation....

  • describes a book, journal article, website, or other published item. can also describe primary sources, manuscripts or data.
  • gives credit to the originator of an idea, thus preventing plagiarism
  • enables the reader to understand where to retrieve the item you refer to
  • often includes basic "metadata" or descriptor fields such as author, title, source (publisher and place of publication or URL), and date

A citation manager is a tool which helps you to store, organize and output your citations in the format you prefer.

A citation manager can help automate the creation of bibliographies in your research papers.

 

Options for Citation Management

In addition to EndNote, Library and Technology Services now supports the web-based RefWorks and Zotero citation management systems, giving the Brandeis research community a choice among three tools to help manage citations, generate bibliographies, and more...

Like EndNote, RefWorks and Zotero allow you to add, store, and organize citations to information resources such as journal articles, books, and websites. But there are some important differences among the three. If you’re already using EndNote, why would you switch to RefWorks or Zotero? Which citation management tool is right for you? Here is a summary - see also the full comparison chart.

**********************************************************************************************

RefWorks is one of the easiest citation management tools to use. RefWorks is web-based for easy access from anywhere as long as you have an Internet connection. Using RefWorks, you can

  • easily add citations to create your RefWorks library
  • generate bibliographies from your RefWorks library
  • use RefShare to share lists of citations with a project team, with research partners, or with classmates/other students
  • use Write-N-Cite to cite references from your RefWorks library in Microsoft Word while you write
  • Undergraduates might consider using RefWorks for its general ease-of-use, accessibility, and easy-to-generate bibliographies.
  • Graduate students doing concentrated research will find the organization options in RefWorks and the Write-N-Cite tool a great help to the research and writing process.
  • Faculty may want to consider RefWorks for the RefShare tool, to easily share bibliographies for courses or projects with students and colleagues. Note: Faculty currently using EndNote to transfer publications to the Faculty Activity Report and/or Faculty Guide can continue to use EndNote for their own list of publications, or can export this list easily from RefWorks back into EndNote.

*************************************************************************************************

Zotero is also an easy-to-use open source tool that is accessible via the web—it actually lives right in your browser! Using Zotero, it is especially easy to capture and save citations found on webpages, and to add notes and other information to saved citations for efficient and creative organization.

*************************************************************************************************

EndNote is a very sophisticated citation manager that offers the largest number of citation formats and options. The files reside on the computer which does not make it dependent on an internet connection; it does offer a basic but less functional Web based option; it is considered more difficult to learn and use. EndNote allows the user to organize and retain PDF and other file formats of cited works.


EndNote Web is similar to RefWorks. It is generally easy to use and accessible from any computer with internet access. You can sync your citation library between your computer-based EndNote program and EndNote Web in the cloud or use EndNote Web as a backup of your EndNote materials.

BibTex

"The word BibTeX stands for a tool and a file format which are used to describe and process lists of references, mostly in conjunction with LaTeX documents."

A slideshow about how to use Bibdesk, a LaTeX-oriented bibliography management and research database tool is on John Burt's personal website.

The slideshow covers:
1. How to make a BibTeX database and how to use it in a LaTeX document
2. How to use Bibdesk to manage entries in your BibTeX database
3. How to export bibliographies or entries from BibTeX into other formats (such as Endnote, and, with some massaging, into Word)
4. Automatically extracting bibliographic entries, abstracts, keywords, and so forth from JSTOR, EBSCO, Google Scholar, Brandeis OneSearch, and the Library of Congress
5. Using Bibdesk to organize notes on articles, links to articles, and pdf copies of articles
There is additional information about bibdesk/LaTeX install and usage is also available at:
For a more complete explanation, a library guide from University of BC is available at:
 
A website devoted to explaining the use of BibTeX also exists at:
      
     

    RefWorks Alert

    As of May 31, 2014 Brandeis University will no longer subscribe to RefWorks. If you wish to save your RefWorks citations, you will need to export them to another citation manager such as EndNote or Zotero before May 31st.

    If you have any questions please contact e-resources@brandeis.edu

    Library Technology Services

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip