1. RefWorks: Getting Started2. Saving citations with RefWorks3. Getting organized with RefWorks4. More About Citation Management
This is the "Finding Background Material" page of the "University Writing Seminar 14a: Writing the Rhythm: Caribbean Music & Contemporary Writing (UWS 14a)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

University Writing Seminar 14a: Writing the Rhythm: Caribbean Music & Contemporary Writing (UWS 14a)  

Course LibGuide created for Njelle Hamilton by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2012 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/caribbean Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Background Material Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Literature Reference Databases

  • Literature Online (LION)  
    Rating
    Great source for criticism and biography, as well as links to reference works and reliable websites about specific authors. Also includes full text of selected authors' works. Can browse the list of authors by ethnicity or nationality.
  • Literature Resource Center  
    Rating
    Addresses all facets of literary study in one highly searchable interface. Its extensive reference material includes: biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works.
 

LibX LTS Toolbar

 

  LibX LS Toolbar

The LibX LTS Toolbar is a browser extension that gives you fast and easy access to LTS resources, including the LOUIS catalog, BrandeisScholar, the e-Journals A-Z list and more. To download the toolbar and learn more about its many features, click here.

Electronic Music Reference from the Boston Public Library

You'll need a BPL electronic library card (an eCard) to access these databases; please see instructions on how to get one.

Electronic Music Reference

Cross-search several resources in a single search across these groups of dictionaries and encyclopedias on music and the performing arts.

  • Grove Music Online  
    Rating
    For best results, use the advanced search. Now part of Oxford Music Online, this resource combines the dynamically updated full text of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music (2d ed.) with the New Grove Dictionaries of Opera and Jazz (2d ed.)
  • Credo Reference: Music  
    Rating
    Search one or across all four of these dictionaries for quick information on terms and musicians: Harvard Dictionary of Music; Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music; New Penguin Dictionary of Music; and Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium: Performing Arts  
    Rating
    Cross search these Oxford music resources for quick information on topics, musicians, and other artists: Companion to American Theatre; Dictionary of Dance; Concise Dictionary of Music; Companion to Music; Concise Dictionary of Opera; Who's Who in Opera

Lisa Zeidenberg

Profile Image
Academic Outreach Librarian for Creative Arts
Contact Info
Main Library, Farber Level 2
781-736-4697
lzeidenb@brandeis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip