Research resources for Brandeis University
Last Updated: Apr 27, 2015
Welcome to my Business Guide. The resources I have selected for this guide serve as a starting point for your research.
- Jason Bernard June 2014
Brandeis community access on and off campus:
Focuses on aggregating information about private companies that can be hard to find. Covers family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Offers estimates of company financials and revenues; M&A deals and deal multiples, firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, and ownership information.
- The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Provides background information on a wide variety of topics in Economics, Banking and Finance. Contains links to related sites and in-depth articles, making this an excellent place to begin research.
- Morningstar (Lab Only)
Provides investors with information on over 6,000 stocks, 20,000 mutual funds and over 150 Exchange Traded Funds. In addition, it provides stock screening functions and portfolio analysis tools.
- CRSP US Treasury Database
Coverage begins in 1925 for month-end data and in 1961 for daily data. Coverage ends in the last calendar year.
- Compustat Global
Contains non-U.S. and non-Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 33,900 active and inactive publicly held companies with annual data history from 1987.
If you would like to browse a list of electronic resources that are related to business, try:
- Capital IQ
IBS Bloomberg Lab Only
- CRSP/Compustat Merged
- Global Insight DataInsight-Web
Note: I Recommend Firefox as it does not load properly with IE
- Thomson ONE
Reminder: Must use Internet Explorer 10. Pop-ups must be enabled.
Problems with IE11 and PDFs. Try this workaround:
Go to the menu bar and select Tools>Compatibility View Settings.
Check "display all websites" in Compatibility View. Close and reopen the browser.