Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

LibGuides @ Brandeis - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | W | Y

A
African and Afro-American Studies (AAAS)
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Guide for research in African and Afro-American Studies.

American History
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
The LTS Brandeis Guide to American History

American Studies
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012



Anthropology
by Bren Campbell - Last Updated Jul 19, 2011
Research Guide for Anthropology

Archival Resources of Brandeis University
by Maggie McNeely - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
This guide will help you discover the University's archival resources and how to use them. From primary sources to Brandeis publications to digitized materials, your archival research starts here.


Art and Memory (USEM 37B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Course Guide created by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian, for Professor Nancy Scott.


Art and the Asian City: Tokyo, Shanghai, Hong Kong (FYS 20B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Course guide created for Professor Aida Wong by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

Art, Architecture, and Photography
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012
Guide to research in Art, Architecture, and Photography at Brandeis, originally authored by Darwin Scott, Assistant Director for Research & Instruction, Creative Arts & Humanities.

Asian Studies
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

B
Biography
by Brenda Marino - Last Updated Nov 28, 2011

Biol/Neur 99 Guide
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011

BOLLI Members' Library Privileges
by Ani Hovsepian - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Library privileges for BOLLI members

Book Reviews - Print and Online Resources
by Katherine Collins - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
This is a guide which will help you to locate print and online reviews of books.

Buddhist Art (FA171B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Guide created by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian, for Professor Aida Wong.

Business & Economics
by Jason Bernard - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012
Research resources for Brandeis University

Business, Company and Legal History - Selected Sources (AMST 189a)
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
Library Course Guide for Legal Foundations of American Capitalism (AMST 189a)

C
Carrels and Lockers
by Ani Hovsepian - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
How to borrow, renew, return Carrels and Lockers

Census
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
The Decennial Census at Brandeis

Chemistry
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
Chemistry information resources, both electronic and print, available at Brandeis University.

Citation Management
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
This guide provides an overview of three citation managers offered at Brandeis, as well as a information on print and online citation guides.

Classics
by James Rosenbloom - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012


Computer Science
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Mar 21, 2012
Gateway to the Computer Science resources at Brandeis University. (Originally compiled by Joanne Adamowicz.)

Copyright
by Alexis Scanzani, Sherry Keen - Last Updated May 14, 2012
Guide to General Copyright Information and Resources

Course Guide: Soc130a Families, Caregiving and Kinship
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
This guide is intended to provide quick access to important reference tools and useful resources for students studying topics related to family, caregiving and kinship issues.

D
Drama and Social Issues (USem 36B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Jun 27, 2011
Course LibGuide created for Professor Dian Fox by Darwin Scott, Assistant Director for Research and Instruction Services, Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian, and Mark Dellelo, RIS Film & Media Specialist

E
E-Resources Help
by Katherine Collins - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
Having trouble accessing an e-journal or database?

eBooks
by Katherine Collins - Last Updated Apr 9, 2012
Check out our eBook collections and instructions on how to download eBooks to your tablet or ebook reader.

Education
by Sherry Keen, Alexis Scanzani - Last Updated Dec 8, 2011
A guide to the Education resources available including books, electronic databases, web pages, e-journals and other helpful materials.


English and American Literature
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
This guide is an overview of the different resources available for research in English and American Literature.

Environment, Health and Society (SOC 193a)
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
This guide lists selected library research resources for a class taught by Sara Shostak.

Environmental Law and Policy (LGLS 132b)
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Oct 2, 2009
Selected Library Resources

Environmental Science
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011

Evaluating Information on the Web
by Katherine Collins - Last Updated Jul 21, 2009
This is a guide to evaluating information that you find on the web.

F
Fast Facts
by Alexis Scanzani - Last Updated Apr 11, 2012
Quick information about Brandeis, Waltham and beyond, as well as links to quick reference resources.

Film Studies
by Mark Dellelo - Last Updated Jul 28, 2010
Resources in film criticism, history, theory, and scholarship.


French and Italian language and literature
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
This is a guide to doing research in French and Italian language and literature.

French Existentialism: An Introduction (FREN 143A)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
Course guide created for Professor Edward Kaplan by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

Funding & Grants: Information Resources
by Wendy Lee - Last Updated Sep 15, 2011
Guide to information on funding and grants, scholarships, and fellowships.

G

German Studies, Language and Literature
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
This guide provides an overview of resources in the fields of Germanic studies, language and literature.

GIS - Geographic Information Systems
by Katherine Collins - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012
This guide provides an overview of spatial data sources, mapping tools, useful website, associations and books related to GIS.

Global Perspectives on Health (HSSP102)
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Sep 8, 2011
Guide to Selected Sources in Global Health

Government Documents
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated May 16, 2012
Selected Sites for Federal, State, Foreign and International Levels of Government

Grad Chem Guide - Spring '09
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011
Guide for graduate chemistry students

Grad Chemistry Guide - 2011
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
Guide for graduate chemistry students

Growth Control and Cancer (BIOL172b)
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
Selected Resources

Guide to Using ARTstor at Brandeis
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
This guide was originally created in September 2006 by Deborah Vincelli at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, who graciously offered to share it with Brandeis University. It has been altered by Darwin Scott & Lisa Zeidenberg to fit Brandeis community needs.

H
Haiti, Then and Now (FREN 164A)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
Course guide created for Professor Jane Hale by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

Health & Medicine
by Katherine Button - Last Updated May 4, 2012
This is a research guide for the areas of health and medicine.

Health Policy
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
Guide to Selected Sources in Health Policy

History of the United States, 1865 to the Present (HIST 51b)
by Sarah Shoemaker - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
This guide provides helpful links and information to students in History 51b.

Honors Chemistry Guide (CHEM 99)
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
Guide for Chem 99

How To Find Books With LC (Library of Congress) Call ##
by Ani Hovsepian - Last Updated Jul 28, 2010
Reading and understanding Library of Congress call numbers system. How they are organized and shelved.


I

Impressionism: Avant-Garde Rebellion in Context (FA 155A)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 15, 2012
Course LibGuide created for Professor Nancy Scott by Darwin Scott, Assistant Director for Research and Instruction Services, Creative Arts and Humanities, and Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian.


Interlibrary Loan
by James Lee, Dzintra Lacis - Last Updated Apr 19, 2012
Register as a new user. Login to your ILL account. How to use interlibrary loan. Interlibrary loan policies.

International Justice
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Jul 28, 2010
Guide from the International Center for Ethics, Justice, and Public Life at Brandeis.

Introduction to Latin American Literature (HISP 111B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg, Adam Lipkin - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Research guide created for Professor Lucia Reyes de Deu by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts and Culture Librarian

Introduction to Literary Method (ENG-11A)
by Anne Woodrum, Sarah Shoemaker - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Research guide for locating and publishing forgotten poems and short stories published before 1900.

Investing in Energy: Fossil Fuels to Cleaner Energy (FIN 235a)
by Jason Bernard - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
FIN 235a Call Number: 4600 Instructor(s): Ballantine, Jr., John

J
Journalism
by Judith Pinnolis, Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Research guide for the Journalism program

Journeys to Enlightenment (FYS 15A)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated May 25, 2011
Course guide created for Professor Edward Kaplan by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

L
Laptop Lockers
by Ani Hovsepian - Last Updated Apr 13, 2010
Policies and procedures for using the Laptop Lockers

Latin American and Latino Studies
by Adam Lipkin - Last Updated Oct 17, 2011

Latinos in the United States: Perspectives from Literature, Film, and Performance (HISP 195A)
by Lisa Zeidenberg, Adam Lipkin - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Research guide created for Professor Lucia Reyes de Deu by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian.

Latinos on Film (HISP 193B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg, Adam Lipkin - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011
Research guide created for Professor Lucia Reyes de Deu by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian.

Legal Studies
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Guide to Resources in American Law

Liberia
by Sarah Hartman - Last Updated Jul 28, 2010
Resources related to Liberia, in connection with the screening of the movie "Pray the Devil Back to Hell".

Library Reserves
by Alexis Scanzani - Last Updated May 3, 2012
A guide to library reserves for faculty, instructors and students.

Life Sciences
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012
This guide covers the basic tools for research in Biology/Life Sciences.

Locating Items in the Library
by Wendy Lee - Last Updated Apr 11, 2012
How to locate items in the Brandeis library

M


Mathematics
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Sep 23, 2010

Medieval and Renaissance Studies
by Sarah Shoemaker - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
This guide provides research advice and sources for work in Medieval and Renaissance studies.

Methods and Approaches in the History of Art (FA 199A)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Course LibGuide created by for Professor Charles McClendon, Fine Arts Department, by Darwin Scott, Assistant Director for Research and Instruction Services, and Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian (thanks to Sarah Walkowiak for Presentation content)

Methods of Literary Study (ENG-200A)
by Anne Woodrum, Sarah Shoemaker - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Course guide for ENG-200A: Methods of Literary Study.


Mobile Access to Library Resources
by Katherine Collins - Last Updated Mar 9, 2012
Mobile Version Here | PC Version Here

Music
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
Welcome to a selective guide to the fundamental and essential resources necessary for undertaking undergraduate and graduate research in music and music-related topics. (Originally compiled by Darwin Scott)

N
Near Eastern and Judaic Studies
by James Rosenbloom - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Includes: The Ancient Near East, Bible, Judaica, New Testament, Islam, modern Middle East


News Resources
by Katherine Collins, Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Mar 8, 2012

O
Open Access, Scholarly Publishing, and Author Rights & Responsibilities
by Katherine Button, Katherine Collins - Last Updated May 4, 2012
Originally compiled by Jen Ferguson and Lois Widmer

P
Philosophy
by Adam Lipkin - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012

Physics
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Mar 21, 2012

Politics
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
Guide to Resources in Political Science

Post-Impressionism and Symbolism, 1880-1910 (FA 174B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Jul 29, 2010
Guide created for Professor Nancy Scott by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian, based on a guide created by Darwin Scott, Creative Arts Librarian.


Primary Sources in the Humanities
by Sarah Shoemaker, Maggie McNeely, Anne Woodrum - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
This guide covers primary-text research sources for the humanities.

Psychology
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Oct 13, 2011
This guide covers the basic tools for research in Psychology

Q
QR Codes
by Anne Woodrum - Last Updated Mar 19, 2012

R
Reference Shelf
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
Selected Reference Resources on the Web

Religious Studies
by James Rosenbloom - Last Updated Jan 11, 2012


REU Summer 2011
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Oct 13, 2011
Guide for REU program - Cell & Molecular Visualization

RSS Feeds
by Katherine Collins - Last Updated May 25, 2011
This guide will help you learn more about RSS Feeds and how to use them.

Russian & East European Studies, Language, Literature
by Vera Deak - Last Updated Jun 27, 2011
This guide provides an overview for library research in Russian & East European Studies, Language and Literature.

S
Science POSSE 2011
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Oct 7, 2011



Silk Road Buddhist Art (FA13B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Guide created by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian, for Professor Aida Wong.

Social Policy
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Mar 1, 2012
Guide to Selected Research Sources in Social Policy

Sociology
by Judith Pinnolis, Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
This guide provides an overview of resources available to the Brandeis community in the field of sociology.

Sound for Theater, Film, and Television: A Guide to Library Research (THA 50b) and (THA‚ 241a-b)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Guide created by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian for Professor David Wilson, based on previous guide created by Darwin Scott.

Spanish & Latin American Literature
by Adam Lipkin - Last Updated Oct 17, 2011

Spanish Civil War
by Anne Woodrum, Sarah Shoemaker - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
This guide highlights some of the resources available in Special Collections on the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939).

Spanish Composition, Grammar, and Stylistics (HISP 106B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg, Adam Lipkin - Last Updated Jun 27, 2011
Course LibGuide created for Professors Elena Gonzalez Ros, Olmanda Hernandez-Guerrero, and Mariya Kireyeva by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

Spanish Composition, Grammar, and Stylistics (HISP 106B)
by Adam Lipkin - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Libguide for HISP 106B: Spanish Composition, Grammar, and Stylistics

Special Collections
by Anne Woodrum, Sarah Shoemaker - Last Updated May 10, 2012
This is a guide to the Special Collections held at Brandeis, including manuscripts and rare books.

Statistics
by Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated Jan 20, 2012
Guide to Key Statistical Sources

Studies in Asian Art: Making Tradition in Modern Japan and Beyond (FA 197A)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Apr 5, 2012
Course guide created for Professor Aida Wong by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

Subsaharan Africa and the French Language (FREN 165B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Course Guide created by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian, for Professor Jane Hale

Survey of Western Architecture (FA 21b)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Course LibGuide created for Professor Kimberley Skelton by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian


T
The Age of Cathedrals (FA42B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Apr 5, 2012
Course resource guide created for Professor Charles McClendon by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

U
University Writing Seminar 13B: Minimalist Music (UWS 13B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Course LibGuide developed for Peter Lane by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

University Writing Seminar 14a: Writing the Rhythm: Caribbean Music & Contemporary Writing (UWS 14a)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Course LibGuide created for Njelle Hamilton by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

University Writing Seminar 26A: Payback: Revenge and Culture (UWS 26A)
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Nov 4, 2011
A guide to library resources.

University Writing Seminar 27B: Writing the Rhythm II: Reggae Music & Contemporary Writing (UWS 27B)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Course guide created for Njelle Hamilton by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

University Writing Seminar 7B: Food and Power (UWS 7B)
by Katherine Button - Last Updated Nov 8, 2011
A guide to library resources.

University Writing Seminar 8B: All What Jazz? (UWS 15A)
by Lisa Zeidenberg - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Course guide created for Sarah Caissie Provost by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian

UWS Research Guide
by Anne Woodrum - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012

W
Web Design Forum
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Jun 20, 2011
A compilation of websites and resources devoted to learning about using web technology for teaching and learning.

Women's & Gender Studies
by Judith Pinnolis, Sherry Keen, Ralph Szymczak - Last Updated May 3, 2012
Research Guide for Women's & Gender Studies

World History
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Mar 21, 2012

Y
Yiddish Studies
by Judith Pinnolis - Last Updated Mar 28, 2012

Featured Resource

RIPMPlus

RIPMPlus (Répertoire international de la presse musicale)

Includes RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals and RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full-Text). This international database focuses on music and musical life from approximately 1800 to 1950. RIPM provides access to eighteenth-, nineteenth- and twentieth-century periodical literature dealing with music, with over 971,000 annotated records, updated every six months. Links to digitized articles are made available via RIPM's Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full-Text), which include 105 rare journals, updated with new titles every six months. Also includes language translation, transliteration, virtual keyboard, and browse features.

Find RIPMPlus in Brandeis Scholar or follow the link above. For more information about RIPMPlus, or questions about how to use it, please contact Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts and Culture Librarian, lzeidenb@brandeis.edu, x64697.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Mark Dellelo
Contact Info
Main Library, Farber Level 2
781-736-4584
dellelo@brandeis.edu
Send Email