1. RefWorks: Getting Started2. Saving citations with RefWorks3. Getting organized with RefWorks4. More About Citation Management
This is the "Finding Background Material" page of the "Survey of Western Architecture (FA 21b)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Survey of Western Architecture (FA 21b)  

Course LibGuide created for Professor Kimberley Skelton by Lisa Zeidenberg, Arts & Culture Librarian
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2012 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/architecture Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Background Material Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Reference

General Reference

 

Print Reference

Click on the book title to go to its LOUIS listing; click on the image to see it on Amazon.com.

See also the following for more books and electronic resources from the catalog:

Architecture Reference


Cover Art
Dictionary of Architectural and Building Technology
ISBN: 0419222804
A wide-ranging glossary of technical terms used in all aspects of building construction.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World
ISBN: 0521564220
Accessible, worldwide overview of vernacular architecture -- the dwellings and all other buildings built and used by the people, reflecting environmental contexts, available resources, and close relationships to the lives of inhabitants. Falls thematically into two parts: "Theories and Principles (vol. 1) and "Cultures and Habitats (vol. 2-3). Contains extensive cross-referencing, glossary of terms, comparative lexicon of architectural terms (with equivalents in six languages), a substantial bibliography, and an index of cultures and habitats, nations and locations.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects
ISBN: 0029250005
Includes more than 2,400 biographies of architects from antiquity to the present (if born by 1930) from all geographical regions. The substantial biographies for major architects include evaluative essays. All entries include a work list & bibliography. Despite its age, this is still a valuable resource.

Makers of 20th Century Architecture: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook
ISBN: 0313293538
Combines biography and critical analysis with an extensive bibliography of publications by or about architects and engineers whose work has proven influential on the course of modern Western architecture. Opens with a concise historical discussion of the evolution of modernism. Includes many plates of photographs, drawings, and plans.

Cover Art
A Biographical Dictionary of British Architects, 1600-1840
ISBN: 0300060912
A comprehensive record of every British architect who practiced between 1600 and 1840. Contains authoritative work lists and thorough biographical summaries. Opens with an important essay on the practice of architecture, 1600-1840.

Cover Art
The Elements of Style: A Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, from 1485 to the Present
ISBN: 0684835215
Edit or Delete link_249232 Get Quick Stats
Practical visual and documentary guide to the heritage of domestic architecture in Great Britain and the United States. Includes a vast body of illustrative material. Chronological arrangement by period and style traces the history of the British of the British and American house in a series of essays adhering to the same topical structure (introduction, doors, windows, walls, ceilings, floors, fireplaces, staircases, built-in furniture, services, lighting, metalwork, and woodwork). Appendices include biographies of architects and designers, glossary, and a directory of restoration suppliers.

Architectural Records in Boston: A Guide to Architectural Research in Boston, Cambridge, and Vicinity
ISBN: 0824091264
Locates the major holdings of architectural materials within Greater Boston, organizing the information in 3 separate sections: active and retired firms with pre-1970 records, repositories, and governmental agencies. Includes introductory essay "Conducting Architectural Research in Greater Boston." Glossary defines special archival and architectural terms, and the index provides access to the entries by name of architect, firm, organization, and institution. Prepared by the Massachusetts Committee for the Preservation of Architectural Records.

 

Lisa Zeidenberg

Profile Image
Academic Outreach Librarian for Creative Arts
Contact Info
Main Library, Farber Level 2
781-736-4697
lzeidenb@brandeis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip