This is the "Home" page of the "Yiddish Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

Yiddish Studies  

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2014 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/Yiddish Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Nu? Mameloshn vilstu?

  • List of Yiddish Letters and Sounds
    A chart of the Yiddish alphabet with pronunciation guide. From the University of Illinois, Chicago, originally based on a Univ. of Penn. Yiddish website.
  • Yiddish Sources
    A guide to Yiddish sources online around the world.
 

Indexes to Journals

Indexes to Journals

Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles of interest from the North American Jewish press. Newspapers such as The Jewish Bulletin of Northern California, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, The Jewish Press, The Jewish Journal, The Forward, Lilith, The Jewish Week, The Baltimore Jewish Times, The Cleveland Jewish News, Jewish Telegraph Agency and others. Backfiles vary.

MLA Bibliography (Brandeis users only)
Contains bibliographic records to "literature, language, linguistics and folklore". The MLA Bibliography indexes over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies and other formats. The electronic version covers 1963 to the present. The MLA bibliography paper index covers 1921-1987. Yiddish language and literature have been included since 1951.

RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Other Title: IAJS
http://sites.huji.ac.il/jnul/rambi/

Index to 'Judaica Librarianship'
Useful website index to the journal, Judaica Librarianship, covering many aspects of Jewish studies, aimed at librarians. Some useful articles on Yiddish orthography. To reach index: click on "publications", then on the title of journal, then at bottom of page is a .pdf or .rtf file to open index.
http://www.JewishLibraries.org

 

JSTOR --Jewish Studies
JSTOR contains many older issues of journals that contain materials about Jewish and Yiddish Studies.

Yiddish Studies Introduction

Introduction

This is a guide to library research in the field of Yiddish Studies.
It contains a selective list of resources that may be helpful to students for getting started in a research paper in Yiddish Studies. Please consult a Judaica or Reference librarian for additional assistance.

Judaica Reference is located on the Mezzanine Level of the Goldfarb Library.
Phone is 781-736-4685.

Judaica Staff include:
Jim Rosenbloom, Judaica Librarian. rosenbloom@brandeis.edu
Nancy Zibman, Hebraica Cataloging Assistant. zibman@brandeis.edu

Table of contents

General Guides

General Reference

Cutter, Charles and Micha Falk Oppenheim.
Judaica Reference Sources : A Selective, Annotated Bibliographic Guide
2nd ed. Juneau, Alaska, USA : Denali Press, c1993.
Judaica Reference Z6366 .C87 1993

Frank , Ruth S. and William Wollheim. Eds.
The Book of Jewish Books: A Reader's Guide to Judaism
San Francisco : Harper & Row, 1986.
Judaica Z6366 .B66 1986

Holtz, Barry W., ed.
The Schocken Guide to Jewish Books: Where to Start Reading About Jewish
History, Literature, Culture and Religion
New York : Schocken Books, c1992.
JudaicaReference Z6366 .S39 1992

Kerler, Dov-Ber, ed.
History of Yiddish Studies: Papers from the Third Annual Oxford Winter Symposium in Yiddish Language and Literature, 13-15 December 1987.
Oxford Winter Symposium in Yiddish Language and Literature (3rd : 1987)
Chur ; Philadelphia : Harwood Academic, c1991.
Main Stacks PJ5111 .O94 1987

Shunami, Shlomo.
Mafteah ha-maftehot: bibliografyah shel bibliografyot kol-Yisre`eliyot
Bibliography of Jewish Bibliographies.
2nd Ed. 2 vols. Jerusalem: Magnes Press, 1975.
Judaica Reference Z7070.A1S5 Suppl. 1975

Terry, Michael, editor
Reader's Guide to Judaism
Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000
Judaica Reference BM50 .R43 2000


Directories

Maisel, David, ed.
Yiddish in Boston
Brookline, Ma. : Workmen's Circle, 1988
Judaica Reference Z7070 .Y529 1988

      
     

    Bibliographies

    Bibliographies

    Judaica Reference Sources: A Selective, Annotated Bibliographic Guide
    This bibliography of bibliographies lists and describes Judaica reference works as well as bibliographies in such subjects as, Jewish history, the Holocaust, Zionism, Israel, and Jewish Women's studies.
    Judaica Reference Z6366 .C87 1993
    Judaica Office Z6366 .C87 1993

    Kuznitz, Cecile E.
    "Yiddish Studies" IN The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies
    Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002
    JudaicaReference BM70 .O95 2002

    Prager, Leonard.
    Yiddish Literary and Linguistic Periodicals and Miscellanies : A Selective Annotated Bibliography.
    Darby, Pa. : Published for the Association for the Study of Jewish Languages by Norwood Editions, 1982.
    Judaica Reference Z7070 .P72

    Weinreich, Uriel.
    Yiddish Language and Folklore, A Selective Bibliography for Research's-Gravenhage, Mouton, 1959
    Judaica Reference Z7070 .W45

    Yivo Institute for Jewish Research.
    Yivo-bibliografye : a reshime fun di bikher, zshurnaln... vos der Yidisher visnshaftlekher institut hot publikirt in di yorn ...
    Nyu-York : Yidisher visnshaftlekher institut, 1943
    Judaica Reference Z5055.U4 Y5

    Yiddish Studies Bibliography
    http://yiddish-sources.com/bibliography/

    Judaica Librarian

    Profile Image
    Jim Rosenbloom
    Contact Info
    Goldfarb Library, Mezzanine
    781-736-4688
    Rosenbloom@Brandeis.edu
    Send Email
     

    Library Technology Services

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip