This is the "Home" page of the "History of the United States, 1865 to the Present (HIST 51b)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brandeis University Library Technology ServiceslineLibrary CatalogDatabasese-journalsAsk a librarian

History of the United States, 1865 to the Present (HIST 51b)  

This guide provides helpful links and information to students in History 51b.
Last Updated: Oct 18, 2011 URL: http://brandeis.libguides.com/History51b Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the History 51b LibGuide! This guide will provide you with helpful links and information for doing primary-source research, using the resources available to you at Brandeis and beyond.

 

Doing Research Online

Doing historical research takes time, persistance, and curiosity, and it can be very rewarding. You get to work with actual documents and materials from the time period you are studying.

Remember: Not everything you need is online, and even if it were, Google does not search the entire Web! You may need to look at online databases, microfilm, actual documents, and, yes, books. A Google search has its uses, and it can be great for background research. To do real research, however, you're going to need more than just Google.

With that in mind, Brandeis Scholar is your friend! Brandeis Scholar is an online tool that gives you access to hundreds of scholarly databases with primary-source materials, journals, historical newspapers, letters and diaries, and much more. There is even a quick way to search a bunch of American history databases at once (click on the button that says History (U.S.), and enter your search term in the box). Click here to go to Brandeis Scholar, and try it out.

Click here to see a list of primary-source electronic resources in Brandeis Scholar

 

How do I know what Resource to use? Where can I go for help using a database?

Use the Resource QuickSets organized by subject located in Brandeis Scholar

Use Find Database by Subject in Brandeis Scholar

Use Subject Guides & Course Guides for suggestions

Ask your Subject Liaison. Or call InfoPoint at 6-INFO.

Director, University Archives & Special Collections

Profile Image
Sarah Shoemaker
Contact Info
Archives & Special Collections
Goldfarb Library, Level 2
Brandeis University
Waltham, Massachusetts
tel. 781-736-4641
sshoemak@brandeis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip