Electronic Reference (EBooks)
- Spanish Language NewspapersA nice (if incomplete) listing of Spanish-language newspaper websites, sorted by country.
- Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture (Blackwell Reference Online)
"Provides the historical background to help the reader understand the people and culture that have defined Latin American literature and its reception. Each chapter also includes short selected bibliographic guides & recommendations for further reading." - Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 (Credo Reference)
"Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the the twentieth century to the present day." - Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature (Credo Reference)
"Includes: entries on topics and countries; entries on the leading writers in Latin America from colonial times to the present; and detailed articles on important works." - Companion to Latina/o Studies (Blackwell Reference Online)
"Collection of 45 original essays written by leading scholars in the Latina/o studies field." - Companion to Latin American History (Blackwell Reference Online)
"State-of-the-art overview of the history of Latin America in all its diversity. Comprising 28 chapters by leading world experts, this is a single source of information for scholars and students interested in Latin America's past and is the ideal starting - Latin America : Conflict and Development since 1945 (ebrary)

- Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary (ebrary)

- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture (ebrary)

- Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
The Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics strives to be a complete and accurate source of basic information on Latin American politics in the last two centuries. The volume attempts to offer clear explanations of the events, individuals, organizations, and dynamics that have shaped the region’s past, as well as those that are governing its present, and will affect and guide what will hopefully be its fully democratic future. - Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
This landmark scholarly work offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
General Online Literature Reference Databases
- Literature Online
Great source for criticism and biography, as well as links to reference works and reliable websites about specific authors. Also includes full text of selected authors' works. Can browse the list of authors by ethnicity or nationality. - Literature Resource Center
Addresses all facets of literary study in one highly searchable interface. Its extensive reference material includes: biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works.
The Cambridge History of Latin America (Online)
Click here to see the LOUIS links to all 12 volumes of this extremely valuable historical resource.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature (Online)
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature is by far the most comprehensive work of its kind ever written. Its three volumes cover the whole sweep of Latin American literature (including Brazilian) from pre-Colombian times to the present, and contain chapters on Latin American writing in the USA.
Click here to see the LOUIS links to all three volumes.
- The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature Vol. 1: Discovery to Modernism
Volume 1 begins with pre-Columbian traditions and their first contact with European culture, continuing through to the end of the nineteenth century. New World historiography, epic poetry, theatre, the novel, and the essay form are among the areas covered in this comprehensive and authoritative treatment. - The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature Vol. 2: The Twentieth Century
Volume 2 provides coverage of all genres from the end of the nineteenth century up to García Márquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude and beyond to 1990, thus including discussion of Spanish American literature's best-known works. The novel, poetry, autobiographical narrative, the short story, Afro-Hispanic American literature, theatre, and Chicano literature are among the areas treated in this wide-ranging volume. - The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature Vol. 3: Brazilian literature; bibliographies
Volume 3 is devoted partly to the history of Brazilian literature, from the earliest writing through the colonial period and the Portuguese-language traditions of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; and partly also to an extensive bibliographical section in which annotated reading lists relating to the chapters in all three volumes of The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature are presented. These bibliographies are a unique feature of the History, further enhancing its immense value
Print Reference
Click on the title to see a book's LOUIS record, click on the image for more information about the book from Amazon.com.
Adam Lipkin |
Links: Profile & Guides |
The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature (Online)
This first comprehensive history of Spanish literature to be published in English since the 1970s brings together experts from the USA, the United Kingdom, and Spain. Together, the essays cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theatre from the early Middle Ages to the present day.
- The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature
The classics of the canon of eleven centuries of Spanish literature are covered, from Berceo, Cervantes and Calderón to García Lorca and Martín Gaite, but attention is also paid to lesserknown writers and works. The chapters chart a wide range of literary periods and movements. The volume concludes with a consideration of the influences of film and new media on modern Spanish literature.







Loading...
