Brandeis Scholar
UNDERGRAD CORNER
Databases are for finding articles:
A great place to start looking for articles in American Studies is Brandeis Scholar!
The first two links are sets chosen by me, your humanities librarian, of databases useful for quick research in American Studies. The second link will allow you to focus your searching with the premiere single database for searching articles in American cultural life. The JSTOR History set will give you articles that are older (maybe 3 to 5 years old or more), but from really great journals, and with the advantage that all are full text online.
- Area and Ethnic Studies QuickSet
QuickSet listing of Brandeis History databases where you can search multiple databases at once. - American History QuickSet
QuickSet listing of Brandeis databases about ethnicity and different areas of the world. Includes minority groups such as Native Americans, Asian Americans and African Americans. - America: History and Life
The premiere database for articles on American History. - JSTOR History
Articles in History, full-text online.
Getting Started
Find Background Information
Get an Overview of the Subject
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Reference: E169.1 .E624 2001 - Encyclopedia of American Studies
Reference: E169.1 .E625 2001 - Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture
Reference: E169.1 .G7555 2002 - Encyclopedia of American Social History
Reference: HN57 .E58 1993
Use Atlases for Visual Display of Complex Statistics
- Atlas of American Politics, 1960-2000
G1201.F1 A8 2002 - Atlas of American Diversity
Reference: E184.A1 S575 1998 - Women's Atlas of the United States
Reference: G1201.E1 G5 1995
About Wikipedia
Brandeis LTS does not recommend the use of Wikipedia for primary research. Wikipedia may be a good starting place or "jumping off" point for research. However, the materials cannot be relied upon as scholarly or even accurate. Many of the articles may be tainted by inaccuracies and bias.
Please view the materials linked below for thorough information about wikipedia and its uses.
Thanks!
- Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface 6 minute video produced by North Carolina State University on the underlying principles of Wikipedia, and how it works.
This is a really great short video and website about wikipedia.
Research and Instruction/ Humanities Librarian |
Judith S. PinnolisFarber Library, Level 2
781-736-4705
pinnolis@brandeis.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
American Studies, American History, History, World History, Yiddish Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait